We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quirky Holidays Cornwall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rezare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Quirky Holidays Cornwall
Save
You added Quirky Holidays Cornwall to your Saves list
Rezare, Launceston PL15 9NX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We booked to stay in 'Duke' for 3 nights for part of our honeymoon, we wanted something a bit different but also weather-proof and with a bit more luxury than camping! Duke was amazing and this was one of the best, most lovely places we've ever stayed. We actually had really good weather, so days were spent sunbathing and watching surfers on stunning beaches (approx 40 mins away) and then during the evenings we just sat, next to the campfire in our own private meadow watching (lots) of shooting stars and listening to owls! Everything we could possibly have needed was in Duke and there were plenty of lovely touches ready for us on our arrival - bottle of wine, biscuits and milk in the fridge. There was just so much thought put into everything. If i could give more than 5 stars then I would..... Thank you Rick and Kym for such a lovely stay. Can't wait to go back in the winter and use the woodburner, I think this would make a really cosy winter break!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The stay as the Duke has ruined all other inns and b&b's for me.
It will be the base for all my future comparisons and it has set the bar very high.
Our romantic three night stay was the best holiday i've had in england hands down. i'd highly recommend the duke... but i want it all to myself!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in the new Hercules wagon. It's set in it's own little wooded area (with fire pit) so very private. The inside is a really clever mix of brand new (great shower) and fantastic reclaimed fittings - an old railway carriage door on the bathroom, an English Rose kitchen and cinema seats at the table. You get the feel of being out in the countryside without any of the downsides of camping! Its not the most exciting part of Cornwall but central for day trips to both Devon, north and south coasts. Can highly recommend Constantine Bay near Padstow for a great beach.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights with our dog Darcy. We stayed in the Maiden Ale Wagon and Wisteria Cottage. We were met by the owners and then left to our own devices for the rest of our stay. The cottage and bedroom are lovingly decorated and stocked with all the kitchen equipment you will ever need. There's also a good selection of books, games, puzzles; so much so that we sometimes didn't actually want to leave for a day trip. However we did visit Plymouth where we had excellent seafood and enjoyed the area around the Lido and the Lighthouse. In Padstow take your dog to Lower Beach which is gorgeous; we also ate at Rick Stein's St Petroc's bistro where our dog was allowed in with us! The castle at Launceston is a nice place to sit on a sunny day, and the Pannier market in Tavistock is fantastic for both antiques and fresh food. We also visited Pencarrow House with the dog and had a delicious cream tea whilst watching the peacocks on the lawn. The local pub; The Springer Spaniel serves fantastic food with a friendly atmosphere, and they even gave our dog treats! Back at the cottage we used the woodburner in the lounge to make breakfast one morning, and another evening enjoyed toasted marshmallows and hot chocolate sat by the campfire admiring the many (shooting) stars in the sky. A definate for anyone wanting a break away from the norm; be sure to remember to take your own towels. We will definately be going back to sample one of the other choices of accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We wanted something a bit different for our honeymoon. And in the shape of Duke we certainly did!

Weather was 'fun' to say the least... the wind rocked us around, the hailstones and rain pounded down... so we thought the best thing to do was light the fire and crack open a bottle of wine. And there could be no better place to do so than in this fantastic wagon.

The local pub The Springer was excellent. Gorgeous food and only a 15 minute walk. Anything else you fancy in the area is an easy drive away. Welcome pack was much appreciated.... especially the clotted cream mmmmmm. And it was great to see the rabbits hopping around in the garden each morning.

Cannot recommend it enough. If you want a perfect relaxing break with a difference then you HAVE to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We really enjoyed our time at Pip. The cabin is really well equipped (particularly for cooking) and was a cosy, quirky little haven. The log fire was great in the evening and yet there was plenty of outside space to enjoy the sunshine during the day. We stayed for 3 nights which was perfect for us as we were travelling further south to St. Ives. We really enjoyed the coast too but Pip gave us the chance to enjoy the Cornish countryside and a bit of peace and quiet for a few days. We had difficulty choosing between Pip and Duke and whilst we were really pleased with our choice, Duke enjoys greater privacy. It certainly wasn't noisy at Pips but as you are adjoining another cabin, it doesn't have the completely isolated feeling that perhaps Duke has (just a bit of info. in case you too are struggling to decide). The owners clearly put a great deal of time and effort into everything they do and the service is excellent. If you are looking for something a bit different from the usual B&B / holiday cottage experience, it's definitely worth considering.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I should point out that I hate caravaning or camping type holidays. But loved our long weekend in 'Duke' it was quiet, peaceful and very relaxing. Our two dogs absolutely loved it and were soo chilled out I have never known them so subdued. Duke was lovely, quirky and charming. Our friends stayed in Pip and Pip which was equally as nice, more indoor space but Duke offered loads of room for the dogs outside and a nice large bathroom.
We are already talking about going back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quirky Holidays Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quirky Holidays Cornwall

Address: Rezare, Launceston PL15 9NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Launceston > Rezare
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rezare
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering with a twist. Each property sleeps two adults, has good quality full kitchen and shower room. Set in its own large private grounds of at least 1/5 acre, each property has a firepit outside and woodburner indoors. Each is unique and not to be found anywhere else. Dogs are welcome. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quirky Holidays Cornwall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.