We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Midweek Deals” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Strike Casino Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gold Strike Casino Resort to your Saves list
Gold Strike Casino Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1010 Casino Center Drive, Tunica, MS 38664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clay, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Midweek Deals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My friend and I stayed over night midweek for a girls get away. The room was very nice and the only complaint we would have had was the view. We had a view of the roof top of the casino. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. I think my friends husband got the room for $59 per night. You can't beat that!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if the room over looks the roof of the casino if your view is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    360
    91
    58
    38
See reviews for
321
631
76
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for my birthday weekend and it was very nice ! The staff is friendly the hotel is very clean. Reminds me of Vegas ! The room service was very good I ordered pasta and my hubby ordered steak. We love this place. They also have a burger place that's open 24 hour. They have plenty of slots and table games if you can't make it to Vegas go here you want be disappointed. It's also an M life hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I've been going to the Gold Strike for years, however felt it was time to update my review.
Understand they are starting to update some of the rooms. While I can't say any were bad, some where starting to show their age. Right now you might want to avoid the rooms on the 26th floor near the elevator, they have humming pipes. Nothing like being woke up at 5am, because the room next door is taking a shower.

I'm a smoker and they do have a limited number of smoking rooms (several floors). The only real problem is they run do run out and smokers end up in a non-smoking room.

The big thing now is the much improved buffet. It reopened last May, and not as good as it was the first couple of months, but is still darn good. Starting to notice little changes where they may be cutting the food budget a bit. These are all little things, but be a bad sign for down the road. Last trip, never saw any cheese cake, or many fresh made pies. The Mongolian grill section, you don't get to pick how much meat you want, and this time the portions were 1/2 of previous visits. They still only open up the bar (wine) on week-ends only, guess week day visitors don't like wine with their meal. Don't get me wrong I like the new buffet, but as time goes on, it's something to keep an eye on. I remember when the old one was good, then they started taking short cuts, until the point it was over priced even when it was free.

Staff has always been good to great. The most common weak areas ares drinks on the floor and slot attendants. However the past couple of trips this has improved greatly. They are always friendly, just sometimes there isn't enough of them on the floor.

There is some other things being updated, while were not finished, looks like it won't be long. The host area is was hidden behind the High Stakes area, is being moved to the front and in the open. The bar in the front appears to be receiving an over haul and it looks like the mLife desk might be moving to the front also.

The only thing they haven't addressed is late night eating. After 9pm Sun - Thur, your only choice is one tiny snack bar with a very limited menu. If you find yourself hungry late night, walk next door to the Horseshoe much better pickings.

Room Tip: The further from the elevator the better the view. Best views of the Mississippi River are in rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosedale, Mississippi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

while staying at the gold strike casino hotel and resort, there was countless thing that please my stay. first, the hotel is ROYAL. soon as you walk through the doors you are greeded with smile from all employees. it was my first experience ever experiencng a casino resort hotel. i tell you if you have never stayed in one i reccomend the gold strike casino and resort. the lobby is beautiful, the front desk is polite and have upmost interest in catering to your needs. as I walk to the elevator i must say this was the cleanest hotel i have ever been in (not exagerating.) my room was front facing the parking lot and the neighboring casinos, it was a wonder during the night its like staying on the strip in vagas lol. i had one king size bed with space for everything i cared with me and more. did i metion that the room was clean to perfection. let me tell you something it don't get any better than that, the carpet didn't smell. i went to eat ate the famous new resturant they have AMERICAN BUFFET, that resturant was so clean, it smelled good. you could smell clean but no chemicals. it was fresh , so you know the food was to die for. i couldn't stop eating lol it was awesome.YOU MUST ATTEND WITH YOU FAMILY MAKE IT A WEEKEND GET AWAY. come and get THE GOLD STANDARD. I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: get any room facing the front parking lot 4th floor and up,it is beautiful at night. ihad a single b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallatin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Lots of fun, comfortable rooms and staff are very friendly. The casino has something for everyone and is just a fun place to play. Majority of the dealers are very friendly and makes it very enjoyable. A beautiful casino and the atmosphere just makes you smile when you walk in the door. I cannot wait to go back.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Loved the atmosphere, food, comfy bed, and indoor pool. Wish I had won more cash. We stayed 3 nights and 4 days so an in room fridge would have been nice. Gold Strike's location is great - I liked being able to walk from casino to casino.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have been to several casino hotels and never experienced the smell of smoke like I did here. The room was nice but at 3:00 am woke up smelling smoke. It was cigarette smoke. Everything reeked of smoke. The elevators, the gift shop, the lobby, the restaurants everything inside the four walls. We ate at the Atrium Restaurant, worse meal we ever ate. The service was also poor had to even ask for napkins and couldn't even get the order right.

Room Tip: There are none if you don't smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Strike Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Strike Casino Resort

Address: 1010 Casino Center Drive, Tunica, MS 38664
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tunica
#1 Casino Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gold Strike Casino Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Gold Strike Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Strike Hotel Tunica Resorts
Gold Strike Resort
Gold Strike Tunica Ms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Strike Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.