We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Las Vegas southern style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Town Tunica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sam's Town Tunica to your Saves list
Sam's Town Tunica
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1477 Casino Strip Resorts Blvd., Tunica, MS 38664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Las Vegas southern style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is done in rich woods and warm colors. Rooms are well decorated, have nice flat screen T.V., the bell staff was very friendly and accomadating as was all the staff, Dont miss Corkeys Buffett. We always enjoy Sams town,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    87
    67
    45
    35
See reviews for
55
143
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Sam's Town Casino several times. My husband is a card player, and liked their poker room. If you're looking for something up-scale this is definitely NOT it.

-You can hear EVERYthing through the rooms.(We've heard everything, now :-) )
-Food is awful.
-Tournament specifications aren't set up by someone who actually knows how to play poker.
-THE BIGGEST CON: Our room was absolutely filthy. I'm talking hairs all over the bed, dust everywhere, dirty bathroom....I mean just awful.

There's also nothing for the ladies, no spa, shopping, nothing...

Our last trip, 8/3/2012, we decided to never stay here again, and to give Horseshoe a try. Every single time we stayed here, it has been worse than the time before. We stayed at Horseshoe before, and it seems to have a little more class. We'll see.

Room Tip: If I were to stay here at all, I would book the MOST EXPENSIVE room. Maybe then, they will actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah S, Boyd Gaming Digital Marketing Manager at Sam's Town Tunica, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We would like to apologize for your recent experience with our property and let you know that your comments will be sent to the respective departments for immediate attention. We welcome an opportunity to discuss the problems you encountered during your visit. Our company was founded on great service and it is our highest priority in everyday operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Sam's Town was a very nice diversion from the corporate feel. The workers were very friendly and the atmosphere felt homey and comfortable. Their poker room managers went out of their way to ensure my trip was enjoyable. They really were the friendliest bunch I met the whole trip.

We stayed in a regular, deluxe room for half of our stay and 2 nights in a standard suite. For the extra money, I'd stay in the suite every time I go back. And ultimately, yes, I would go back and stay there again.

We visited all the other casinos while we were there as well. I played in poker tournaments in 4 different casinos there. There were friendly employees at the others too, but not to the degree that Sam's Town had 'em.

Hats off to Sam's Town's mgmt team for instilling in their workers what it takes to make the special connection to the guests and get them to want to come back.

If there were ANY negatives at all, it's that the smoke-filled rooms are thick down there. It's bad in the casino area of Sam's Town, but like I said, we went to all the others as well and they were just as bad. Seemed like 80% of the folks were smoking. Just hard on our eyes and lungs....
Side note: The poker room itself is smoke-free. But if you walked out to go to the bathroom the smoke hit you like a ton of bricks....

Room Tip: request one either high up (floor) or away from an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Room spacious and clean. comfortable bed. Casino dealers friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the first time we have stayed at Sam's Town Tunica. The rooms were okay. They could have been a little cleaner. The carpet seemed damp, like the was something wrong with the air conditioner. All in all we had a nice time. The casino is great. Will plan to go back to Tunica soon. The staff was really great. Very helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you check on all the travel sites for the best deals. They are out there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

On the 7th floor hall of Sam's Town the temperature was in excess of 90 degrees. The room wasn't much better. Tried to turn the a/c down but it wasn't blowing hard enough to to blow out a match. I called the front desk to see if they had a fan to put in the room and of course they didn't. Went to the casino and it was still hot down there. The cocktail waitresses were not very speedy on bringing drinks and had a bad additude when you asked for a drink; however, the staff at the bar were more than nice. They were very helpful and more than willing to fix a drink. Sam's Town is a nice place to stay but they need to get the A/C fixed and hire better cocktail waitresses.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

From check in to check out our experience here was terrible. We had to have smoking rooms, dried blood was on our sheets and the rooms were so dirty!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Boyd Gaming Corporate Digital Marketing Manager at Sam's Town Tunica, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We sincerely apologize for your experience during your visit. Our guest service is our first priority in Tunica. We would like to get more information from you to insure your concerns are resolved. Please contact Chris W. by phone at 1-800-456-0711 at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sam's Town Tunica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sam's Town Tunica

Address: 1477 Casino Strip Resorts Blvd., Tunica, MS 38664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sam's Town Tunica 2.5*
Number of rooms: 874
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sam's Town Tunica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sam`s Town Tunica Hotel Tunica Resorts
Sams Town Tunica Resorts
Sams Town In Tunica Miss

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Town Tunica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.