We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Casino and Hotel

Save Saved
You added Horseshoe Casino and Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horseshoe Casino and Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 Casino Center Dr., Tunica, MS 38664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Tunica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lansing, Illinois
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel could use a little more care. The food at the restaurants and buffet was only okay. The casino floor is laid out nice. They have a very nice pool. All of the staff were very pleasant. There are two other casinos nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    126
    74
    46
    30
See reviews for
48
232
32
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am sure the room was nice when it was new.
CONS: The carpets were gross they were covered in stains, the refrigerator was even grosser, the balloon shade did not work and was hard to use before it broke, TV reception was terrible. Hallways smelled like someone spilled chemicals. Very small bathrooms.
PROS: Bedding was nice and clean, comfy beds and pillows. Staff was nice and help full. Room on the third floor, came on a charter flight - was free.

Green Features: Reuse towels, can opt out of having room cleaned while your there for multiple nights.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have been visiting this casino/hotel for a number of years,and recently find that it is not quite as good as it used to be. The changes we have noticed are subtle. Someone who visits only rarely would not notice the little things. Even as the company seems to be upgrading the machines and décor,other things are sliding a bit. We noticed the buffet is not as good as it was,service from the floor staff a little slow,machines are VERY tight. We used to be able to go home at least breaking even,but not lately. A week or so before we came this time,a man had won almost a million dollars at Harrah's sister casino next to Horseshoe. Maybe the company was trying to recoup their loss by keeping the machines tight??? As it was,we scooted over to the GoldStrike and had a better time and better food. We just might switch our loyalties to that company...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Got to spend Sunday thru Wednesday here through Harrahs vacations. We got a room on the 14th floor which was great as it was big, clean, and had a view but the walls are thin and could hear our neighbours plus the doors slammed if you weren't careful.
The casino was pretty good. Lots of machines, big busy poker room, but the cashiers were closed for renovations so the Total Rewards desk was packed with unhappy people standing in line. I think once the transition with Harrahs closing is over, the service will be 5/5.
We appreciated a Starbucks in the lobby, the nice pool, burger diner open 24 hours, and the fun gift shop employees.
There are no cabs so you can't leave the property unless you have a car but there are 3 other casinos; Roadhouse, Gold Strike, and Bally's all within walking distance.
We did not find it busy, smokey, or dirty. We were pleased with the front desk staff but would encourage them to triple check peoples id as my room key didn't work and they just fixed mine without checking that I was in fact the guest in the room.
We will return and rent a car, book on the 14th floor again, and spend more time at the pool.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, mother and father in law, and my step daughter stayed at this hotel. I stayed here before years ago. A lot has changed. Because Harrah's in Tunica closed June 1, 2014, a lot of the people that had rooms booked for Harrah's was placed in rooms in Horseshoe. We had reserved our non smoking rooms 6 months earlier. Our room preference was ignored due to giving the Harrah's customer their room preferences. My mother in law suffers from COPD. We were told that they did not have any more non smoking rooms so they placed an air purifier in her room. We were also told that they would try to move her to a different room the next day.My mother in law did not want to have to pack up her things and move to another room It would have been appreciated if someone from Horseshoe would have contacted us and let us know that we would not be receiving our room preference. At least we would have had the opportunity to decide whether to stay at that hotel or book at another one. We requested a microwave for our room. When we received it, it was filthy. The refrigerator in the room was wobbly. The buffet was excellent. I do not think I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you stay here, when you book your room on line, if you have any type of health issues, be sure an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary by traveling to Tunica on a day trip. The buffet was expensive since we do not travel to the casino often. We paid 45 for two people. After we ate, we gambled a little. I quit after spending 60 bucks and only getting maybe five dollars back. My husband also did not win a dime. Friends say we have to play at least a hundred bucks to win.
After spending almost a hundred for a room, almost fifty for dinner, we can not afford Tunica.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keosauqua, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Other than the fact that they charge for the internet (can you believe that!!!) is was a nice place. The buffet was very good, lots of selections. The rooms were very nice also. The place was very clean...my 1st time in Tunica. If they ever offer free internet I might come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horseshoe Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Casino and Hotel

Address: 1021 Casino Center Dr., Tunica, MS 38664
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tunica
#2 Casino Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Casino and Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Horseshoe Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Casino Tunica Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Casino and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.