We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Timing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Casino and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Horseshoe Casino and Hotel to your Saves list
Horseshoe Casino and Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 Casino Center Dr., Tunica, MS 38664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbus, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad Timing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband, mother and father in law, and my step daughter stayed at this hotel. I stayed here before years ago. A lot has changed. Because Harrah's in Tunica closed June 1, 2014, a lot of the people that had rooms booked for Harrah's was placed in rooms in Horseshoe. We had reserved our non smoking rooms 6 months earlier. Our room preference was ignored due to giving the Harrah's customer their room preferences. My mother in law suffers from COPD. We were told that they did not have any more non smoking rooms so they placed an air purifier in her room. We were also told that they would try to move her to a different room the next day.My mother in law did not want to have to pack up her things and move to another room It would have been appreciated if someone from Horseshoe would have contacted us and let us know that we would not be receiving our room preference. At least we would have had the opportunity to decide whether to stay at that hotel or book at another one. We requested a microwave for our room. When we received it, it was filthy. The refrigerator in the room was wobbly. The buffet was excellent. I do not think I will stay here again.

Room Tip: If you stay here, when you book your room on line, if you have any type of health issues, be sure an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    136
    82
    51
    34
See reviews for
54
246
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary by traveling to Tunica on a day trip. The buffet was expensive since we do not travel to the casino often. We paid 45 for two people. After we ate, we gambled a little. I quit after spending 60 bucks and only getting maybe five dollars back. My husband also did not win a dime. Friends say we have to play at least a hundred bucks to win.
After spending almost a hundred for a room, almost fifty for dinner, we can not afford Tunica.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keosauqua, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Other than the fact that they charge for the internet (can you believe that!!!) is was a nice place. The buffet was very good, lots of selections. The rooms were very nice also. The place was very clean...my 1st time in Tunica. If they ever offer free internet I might come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very clean and large room, excellent service. Convenient distance to casino. Maid service was wonderful and helpful. Bottle water was available to rooms at all times and that was a plus. Loved the promotional coupons for free rooms and casino play money; buffet was the bomb.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borger, texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

nice room, great casino, great poker room.....this trip, the power was off due to lines being down...they ran two generators to keep the casino rolling and the lower floor rooms....we were lucky and had a 2nd floor room, but some other people we met on the elevator with higher rooms were issued a flashlight! yes, no power at all up there, I don't know how they could take it!! love their poker room tho, the best in the south still as far as I am concerned....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Spent 2 nights at the Horseshoe Casino Resort in Tunica and had a few unexpected problems. Rooms were spacious and quiet with good amenities, yet lacked an overall cleanliness that I like in a hotel room. Dirt around the shower rod (I hang my washcloth there), an a circle of grime around the base of the toilet. Small things but still something that is not often seen in other hotels. The worse part of my visit was the lack of cell phone service and internet service. Having to pay for internet service is one thing but then not receiving a signal strong enough to open a web page is another. Definitely not a hotel for business travelers nor for business conventions or conferences.

The food service was varied with several restaurants (I had an excellent piece of lamb in the steak house) located on the main floor. The buffet needs to be better managed for the food was cool and apparently not seasoned well. The Burger Bar which was opened 24 hours was the BEST food place on the property. Fresh food, Great service and an open atmosphere.

Now if gambling is your thing than this is the place to be with 24 / 7 gambling operations, many food and liquor options and located miles from any other city, Tunica is perfect for gambling.

Room Tip: Review your room completely upon check-in and check linens, bathroom and air conditioning. Be sure...
See more room tips
Green Features: I am allergic to tobacco so the minute I stepped into the hotel and I left I had breathing problems. There are smokers everywhere you look and the smell of tobacco smoke permeates each room and meeting area.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a comped room there on May 15. This was the first awful room we have ever experienced there.It looked like a crime scene in there. there were big stains all over the carpet and it was not clean. The air conditioner rattled so loud it was impossible to sleep. We told the lady at the desk and said we would wait on a survey. She said she would take care of it. Needless to say we never received a survey. Won't ever be going back and for sure won't recommend anyone else to go there.Charles Valentine

Room Tip: Go somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horseshoe Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Casino and Hotel

Address: 1021 Casino Center Dr., Tunica, MS 38664
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tunica
#3 Casino Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Casino and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Horseshoe Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Casino Tunica Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Casino and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.