We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience on the River” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Casino and Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Horseshoe Casino and Hotel to your Saves list
Horseshoe Casino and Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1021 Casino Center Dr., Tunica, MS 38664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience on the River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed here for the first time on 6/12/2012, a Tuesday, so my review is not of a weekend or holiday visit. With that said the stay was B+/A- overall; My wife and I have been to most Casinos in Vegas on and off the strip as we have relatives there. I would equate the Horseshoe @ Tunica to a newer version of one of the Station Casinos, meaning the Casino is the attraction, not any sinking ships or exotic place themes.

The Positives: You don't have to walk a mile through the casino to get to registration, it's right insde the door from the parking garage as are the elevators. There's a Starbucks right there as well for those addicted to such things. The single king non-smoking room was large, extremely clean, and stupidly cheap ($40 + $11 for 24 hours of fast Internet). The bed was comfortable, the TV a new 46" HD. We called room service about the Internet and they answered immediately and were very helpful. If you've been to Vegas this is not always the case on weeknights, let alone weekends. The Casino itself was modern, clean, and had ample walking room between aisles. The modern slot machines with touch-screen drink service were fast and smart-C'mon Vegas get with it! We felt safe and secure-the staff and other patrons seemed to be vacationers passing through as well-there were no oxygen tanks or mountains of cigarette butts clogging the aisles like the off-strip Vegas haunts. Lastly the Horseshoe is grouped with 2 or three other Casinos in a complex-although we didn't check them out you could walk to any of them in under 10 minutes.

The negatives: The walk to rooms from the elevators is a maze of turns and distance compared to Station Casinos... Our room had no "view", though others may have...The list of restaurants on sight is quite slim-their online listing doesn't match the info guide binder in the room, and our food at the burger place was only fair. The steakhouse menu was Bellagio priced-the filet was priced more than our room!

Overall we were pleasantly surprised-we were afraid in a $40 a night Casino in Mississippi we'd be in for an adventure of the wrong kind, but we would and will come back here again next time our travels take us to Memphis or even Nashville-it's not that far a drive.

Room Tip: Ask for something near the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    140
    82
    54
    34
See reviews for
57
249
37
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Out of Harrah's, Gold Strike, and the Roadhouse, the Horseshoe is by far the nicest hotel in Tunica.We stayed in a standard king room. The room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was kinda small compared to the room, but all in all it was very nice. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The room was lovely -large with a L shaped couch and easy chair and coffee table facing a large flat screen TV with a wonderful picture. A second TV faced the bed - it was very snowy. A third TV was in the bathroom - we could not get that one to turn on.
Air blew right at the bed - very annoying. The bathroom was large and clean except for mold in the shower/tub area.
WIFI was not free - and very slow.
We ate breakfast in the diner - a complete disaster.- undercooked eggs, tasteless hash browns and overcooked ham that would not slice. We definitely will not return!
The problems in the room could be easily remedied - clean up the mold, fix the TV's - turn the air vents away from the bed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We recently spent one night at the Horseshoe Casino and Hotel on a 24-hour get-away. After doing some research on TripAdvisor for the area, we decided the "King Premium" at the Horseshoe was our best choice. We were not disappointed. Our room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and quiet. We asked for a river view in the online booking, and we were given a room with the view. I especially appreciated the effort to keep the halls and non-casino areas from smelling like cigarette smoke. If you like to watch TV while bathing and dressing, you will enjoy having a small TV in the spacious bathroom! There were two TVs in the room, one for watching from bed and one for the sitting area which which had a comfortable sectional sofa and chair.
We ate at the Horseshoe buffet. It was OK, selections from many different styles of food -- Asian to Southern. There was not an item that I could rate exceptional, but you certainly do not have to leave hungry. Service was good. If you arrive early enough to play the slots, it does not take long to accumulate enough points to have buffet comps.
We spent our next day in Oxford, MS, walking around the square and riding through the campus of Ole Miss. A delightful day in a small Mississippi town. It was like going back in time to see so many people walking around town, shopping in town, and eating in town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night of our "here we come New Orleans" trip and had an overall nice time. We started out at the Harrah's which is "next door" and I'm very glad we were told that our reservation was at the Horseshoe (6 nights at various Harrah's and Horseshoe's-I got confused! what're ya gonna do?) because I wasn't too thrilled with the looks of the Harrah's--lobby is on the second floor (maybe they've had high water? I'm not sure and didn't ask) and just seemed kind of dirty although every employee we dealt with were all VERY nice. So got to the Horseshoe and had a King room which was comped so sometimes I think you get the "older" type rooms but ours was nice and clean. We ate at the buffet which is overpriced but when using reward points who really cares? My husband was happy because while I asked the kind of indifferent Host about where we should eat (maybe she'd had a long day but she looked at me like I was from Mars) he hit for $625 on a quarter machine. I didn't have such luck but still had fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altus,OK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Everything was excellent, from check in to check out. The entire staff were very accomodating and helpful! I work in the hospitality industry and am very impressed with the guest service of this property. Both room and property cleanliness and upkeep were excellent as well. Everything I requested was delivered with a smile and overall upbeat attitude and I am well aware of the challenges of making this happen, especially on sold out weekends! Food was fantastic throughout our stay and I am looking forward to returning to this property as soon as I can. Please keep up the good work and share my Thanks with your staff!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was for four nights, we had a suite on the 10th floor, a very nice room. This is a nice casino with great service. Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horseshoe Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Casino and Hotel

Address: 1021 Casino Center Dr., Tunica, MS 38664
Location: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tunica
#3 Casino Hotel in Tunica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Horseshoe Casino and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 505
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Horseshoe Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Hotel Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Tunica Resorts
Horseshoe Casino Tunica Resorts

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Casino and Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.