We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Starkville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Chester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Chester to your Saves list
Hotel Chester
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 N. Jackson St., Corner of Jackson and Main, Starkville, MS 39759   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Starkville
Bradenton, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Starkville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stumbled onto this hotel when we lost our reserved rooms at a well-known hotel chain. Yes, it is old but you won't find anything dirty or not working. The beds are VERY comfortable. After my first visit, I went home and ordered the same pillows for my own bed. Breakfast is cooked to order and included with your stay. The Library restaurant is intimate and a nice place to retreat in the evening for a drink or a meal. Sukie, one of the proprieters, manages the kitchen -- the menu includes Asian as well as American dishes. Haven't had a bad meal yet! We are always greeted warmly by David and Sukie and made to feel as if we are their most important customers -- which of course we can't be! If you love B&Bs, I would say this is a perfect place for you.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or swimming pool at the facility. Wonderful outdoor seating in the back g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
22
19
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was nice, room was clean, bed was very comfy, but no curtains in the room. There were blinds but the room was light all night then VERY light once the sun rose early on Sunday morning. I need some dark to sleep. I won't stay there again only because of the light.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Chester was recommended by Rick at Rick'sCafe in Starkville. What a pleasure to stay there! Bill, the owner checked us in and made sure we had everything we needed or wanted! I don't know when this man sleeps...he was there when we checked in, when we came back in at midnight, and when we checked out. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable, the staff is welcoming, and the complimentary full breakfast very good. We will only stay at the Hotel Chester if we are back in Starkville.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

This is an older hotel in downtown Starkville. It is a 20 minute little over a mile walk to the campus of Mississippi State. The walk is along tree lined residential streets and is quite enjoyable. As this is an older hotel the rooms are smaller than newer properties. It is not fully accessable for those who have special needs. There is an elevator but the small rooms and some stairs for some rooms may cause issues. I found the room perfectly adequate but i was by myself. It may be tight for two people. The room was clean and well appointed. No fridge or microwave but I don't really need them. I stayed for 4 nights for business and only woke up early due to the city street cleaners outside once. It was surprisingly quiet. The breakfast is fantastic. Cooked to order eggs, waffles and/or meat. Really yummy. Plenty of parking is available on the street or in a city lot less than a block away. Parking was not an issue for me at all. Great place with helpful staff. Next time you are in town, give them a try.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

As parents of an incoming freshman at MSU, we stayed at Hotel Chest on Move In Day. I had read the reviews prior to scheduling and agree with the positive comments. The room was somewhat quite (we did hear the occassional alarm sound, louder than most cars), traditional decor, staff were accommodating, and convenient to most things within the town. We plan to stay here again for an upcoming football game and have already recommended to other parents.

Room Tip: View of the downtown area from our 3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Not only is the Hotel Chester a wonderful hotel to stay in; their honesty is unquestionable! We spent a night there last week and after checking out we went to breakfast. While eating, I received a call from Dave telling me that I had left a bank envelope with cash and my driver's license in it. I can't tell you, Dave, how thankful I am for that call!!!!!! A really superb place to stay! Thank you again-
Annette Pucheu

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

To me, a hotel stay isn't just about the cleanliness, cost, or style of a place, it's also about how comfortable you are made to feel, and how you are treated by the staff. The Hotel Chester sets the standard for me. It is clean, comfortable, nicely located, and run by a family that makes you feel as though you are very special. Kindness is the word that comes to my mind. The restaurant in the hotel is top notch - delicious dinner and so wonderfully decorated and intimate. And the custom-made complimentary breakfast was outstanding. (The chef has talent). All of this for an incredible price. I probably won't ever be back in Starkville, but if I am, you can bet I'll stay here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chester

Address: 101 N. Jackson St., Corner of Jackson and Main, Starkville, MS 39759
Location: United States > Mississippi > Starkville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Starkville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chester 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a southern charm at the Hotel Chester, a 36 room boutique hotel nestled in the heart of historic downtown Starkville. Built in 1925 as a full service hotel the lovingly restored Hotel Chester invites guests to enjoy contemporary services. Voted as the Best Hotel in Mississippi in 2013 and in 2012 by Mississippi Magazine, the Hotel Chester welcomes guests to discover a memorial retreat at our luxury boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your Hotel Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chester Hotel Starkville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Chester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.