We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starkville, MS's most unique restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Bagel Cafe

City Bagel Cafe
511 University Dr, Starkville, MS 39759-3355
662-323-3663
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 102 Restaurants in Starkville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ackerman, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Starkville, MS's most unique restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This will be a short review because to try to cover everything at this unique restaurant would take too long.
The atmosphere is unique. There are people of all ages gathered in friendly groups. They talk and laugh. It is the loudest restaurant in town. MSU students come here with their parents. Young couples come here with their children. Some sit inside, but when weather permits, there is limited seating outside.
The pizza menu is huge and you simply choose what you want - building your own favorite pizza. The selection of dishes is very diverse. When your food is ready ... someone "hollers" out your name and you pick it up at the counter. The drink selection is fairly standard, except you walk to the cooler and pick out your own bottled drinks.
I've never ordered a dish I didn't love. I think everyone who has time to eat out on Thursday thru Saturday nights needs to try this place.
They are not open any other nights, but open early for breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

City Bagel is a great place for a early morning breakfast. The service is always great. Room for large groups. Very nice outdoor seating area that makes it nice place to have breakfast.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, MS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner... Casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Each time we go to Starkville we look forward to meeting friends and spending time together over dinner at the City Bagel Cafe. Moderately priced, variety of items on the dinner menu. (Nice lighter deli menu for lunch.) The only disappointment is arriving to find it closed. Be sure to check their business hours... When school is out their hours change some. Great place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We loved the pizza on one of the pizza nights, although I wish we pre-ordered it be a phone because we had to wait quite long (they made it fresh). Tomato soup was also tasty!

As far as lunches are concerned, we found them quite small and prices were maybe bit too high (considering the portions), but the vegetarian bagels are pretty tasty!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Favorite breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We eat breakfast at City Bagel about once per week. The owners, Mary and Joe, are almost always behind the counter. They have great bagels, good coffee, and lots of other breakfast choices. I always order a wrap with egg, cheese, tomato, avocado and mushrooms. Lunches are also very good with a wide assortment of sandwiches and a daily soup and quiche choice. Everything is homemade. On Thur and Friday nights, City Bagel also serves the best Italian food in town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Bagel Cafe also viewed

 

Been to City Bagel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Bagel Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.