We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIVINE SWINE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Dooey

The Little Dooey
100 Fellowship Street, Starkville, MS 39759
662-323-6094
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 92 Restaurants in Starkville
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout
Starkville, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“DIVINE SWINE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

BBQ pork ribs and fish all good
pies a re divine
Service in a rstic setting enjoyable esp for football or athletic event.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best BBQ I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

What a great place to enjoy a casual lunch or dinner. Exquisite BBQ and fried catfish. Best sides in town. Especially good are corn salad and baked beans. Texas toast is good with BBQ.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This place is a JOKE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We'd read such great things about this place, our expectations were high. Their bbq is passable at best. It SMELLS wonderful outside, and it makes your mouth water, but then you get your food and it has no smokey taste (I mean NONE), brisket was paper dry, and the ribs had SO much fat on them that most of it wasn't edible. Now, their sauce on the table was good, but I'm a believer in good bbq starting with good smoked meat. I'm guessing all the rave reviews are from locals, family, or people that have never had GOOD bbq. I don't care how many TV shows they brag about being on, their food just isn't very good. If I could give this place a 2/2 star I would. Best food we had in town was at Stagger In. GO THERE!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starkville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good but catfish is extremely overpriced here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The food and atmosphere is good here although they keep raising prices. The place is always packed with people. The catfish, although really good, is extremely over priced. Two fillets and two sides for $14.99 is ridiculous!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Been a while”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

It had been several years since I had eaten here. Little bit of a line because of the MSU baseball game... But it moved quicker than I anticipated. Our family of four with drinks was about 30 bucks... Which I considered a value since two of them are teenage boys. Great BBQ . Hopefully it won't take so long next time for me to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Dooey also viewed

 
Starkville, MS
Starkville, MS
 

Been to The Little Dooey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Dooey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.