We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids to learn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scienceworks

Scienceworks
2 Booker St, Spotswood, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3015, Australia
613 9392 4800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Spotswood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scienceworks makes science an adventure! Through our changing exhibitions, programs and shows, Scienceworks is the perfect day out for curious minds and active bodies! Inside: Imagine tomorrow today in the interactive and innovative Think Ahead exhibition; Take the sporting challenge and learn about the science behind moving your body; Designed especially for 3 - 8 year olds create your own city in Nitty Gritty Super City exhibition; Journey to the stars and beyond at the Melbourne Planetarium; Learn about electricity and lightning through spectacular demonstrations in the Lightning Room; Go on a guided tour of the historic Spotswood Pumping Station; Discover the evolution of Spotswood in the Spotswood Industrial Heritage Walk (mobile tour), and that's just start!
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
1,033 reviews 1,033 reviews
551 attraction reviews
Reviews in 350 cities Reviews in 350 cities
2,608 helpful votes 2,608 helpful votes
“Great for kids to learn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Located close to the city centre, there is lots to see and do here
and we took our grand kids here. Lots of interaction and experiments for the kids. A great learning experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    150
    30
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for kids and their adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Loads of interactive activities. The Lightning show is great. Make sure you add the plalnetarium. Eat there or take a picnic

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Planetarium a Must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went with a few families with young children (ages 1 to 4). We arrived at 11 a.m. and stayed until closing time. It's a great place for little kids. At no time were they bored.

Positives:
- My little one loved the sports gallery where most of the exhibits are interactive, e.g. you could test your reaction time, race your friends down a simulated track measuring speed and time, test your cricket and basketball skills, etc.

- The house secrets exhibition was amazingly designed to give you the feel you were in a funky house. The theme was how everyday household items worked, e.g. how much water to flush the toilet. My child particularly liked watching the videos of rotting fruit! Lol

- Super City - a mini city for the kids, with a pretend cafe, wall building, wharf and so on

- Planetarium - you a few dollars extra but it's worth it. I won't describe it and spoil the experience

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to take young children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I love science works. My four year old son asks to go there and as we are members, we go often. I especially love the carnival of science exhibition at the moment, which explains the science of circus and carnival tricks. You can lie on a bed of nails, run through a maze of mirrors and all sorts of other fun things. Science works has a cafe for parents to get a coffee and revive before taking the kids back in. The sports exhibition is also a favorite and my son loves to run/race against Cathy Freeman.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Kids heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Scienceworks is a great way to keep the kids entertained for a couple of hours. Every display is interactive which makes it fantastic for inquisitive minds. The kids (3,6,8) absolutely loved walking around seeing how things worked. The staff were really nice and helpful. The sports exhibit was great however was overrun by several school groups, so be prepared for pushy uncontrolled children. We payed extra to visit the carnival of science which wasn't much to look at from an adults point of view, but an hour and half later the Kids were exhausted. This place certainly isn't a world leader however the kids didn't complain. Teenagers may not find it quite as interesting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scienceworks also viewed

 

Been to Scienceworks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scienceworks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.