We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Memphis Area Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Southaven - Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Southaven - Central to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Southaven - Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Marathon Way, Southaven, MS 38671   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Southaven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Des Plaines IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Memphis Area Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

I visit this area at least a few times a year and I recently stayed here for the first time. The hotel is brand new. The rooms are very nice and clean. The hotel is in a good area. It's close to the interstate but not right beside it so you don't get road noise. The hotel is in a very busy part of town but it's set off the main street so you don't get traffic noise. There's a big shopping center nearby, WalMart, Target and every type of restaurant you could possibly want. It is very convienent for airport travellers but there's a downside to that. I woke up early Saturday morning, about 4am, to get ready to leave. You could hear the planes as they're approaching the airport and they were pretty steady. It wasn't window shattering noise but if you're a light sleeper, it may bother you. I live near a major airport so it didn't bother me. There was only one thing that did bother me. I did not have a bathtub in the room, only a shower stall. The shower stall was very large but only had a tiny shelf meant to put a bar of soap on and nothing else. I would have liked to take a nice hot bath after checking in. I went down to the front desk and asked if they had rooms with bathtubs and if I could switch. They do have rooms with bathtubs but they didn't have a clean one available, which I thought was odd since it was almost 5pm. Since I was only staying one night it wasn't a big deal. Other than that, I thought it was a great place to stay and would stay again if I could get a room with a bathtub.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    33
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
35
27
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

This hotel was wonderful. It is new and very, very clean. Modern design theme. Rooms were great and included big screen TV and free wi-fi. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is not on the main street, which is nice. A number of restaurants just down the street. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — New hotel
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Wonderful hotel! Brand new and gorgeous. The pool is GREAT for kids. Super clean and the staff is awesome. The kids eat free at the restaurant. Food was good. Can't say enough good things . A+++++++++++++!!!!

  • Liked — Nice and new. Clean. Great beds!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pearl
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

the last three times I have been to this hotel I have made a lot of lottery money I am don't have to muck luck in that area. I usually lose money now I am winning 10's of thousands of dollars when I come to this hotel I a sure you that all service are great. It was incredibly amazing. I will surely come to this hotel whenever I come to memphis. IT IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

If you haven't stayed in a Holiday Inn in a while, this is not your father's Holiday Inn. Only open 5 weeks as of my stay in June 2008, this hotel's styling is upbeat and contemporary. It is very similar to the other new Holiday Inn's going up, so there is a nice sense of familiarity.

At first I must commend the staff here at Southaven. Every one I met was cheerful and willing to help. Their attitudes really pushed my hotel experience over the top.

As a Priority Club Platinum member, I was upgraded to the 5th floor which is reserved for VIP guests. As of this writing there are plans to add a small bar and free snack area for the guests of that floor, with some free breakfast items in the morning. This is similar to the Platinum floors at Crowne Plaza's.

The King Executive room I had has very roomy and tastefully decorated. There is a 32" LCD but I did not get any HD channels, not sure if they were offered at this time. The bed was very comfortable and I was able to keep the fan blowing all night which I like for the white noise.

The hotel itself is tucked away in an modern industrial park behind an Asics factory. It's about a quarter mile from Airways Blvd which has the Southaven Mall and just about every chain restaurant you can think of within a half mile of the hotel. You can walk to the mall or restaurants if you wish. It's only about 6 miles from the Memphis Airport.

Overall one very nice hotel. Highly suggested for your stay in Memphis or the local area.

  • Liked — The staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Southaven - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southaven - Central

Address: 280 Marathon Way, Southaven, MS 38671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Southaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Southaven
#4 Romantic Hotel in Southaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southaven - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property is just minutes off I-55 at exit 289. Located just one block off of Goodman Road in one of the most thriving areas of Southaven. We are just 15 minutes from downtown Memphis for all the area attractions or the Memphis International Airport. Quiet location with clean comfortable accommodations. All rooms have a microwave, refrigerator, coffee service, HD TV and complimentary internet service that are fast and reliable. We have a restaurant and lounge on site, indoor pool, two outdoor patios, and lots of parking. No fees for parking. Parking lot can accommodate large vehicles. Our friendly staff is waiting to greet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Southaven - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southaven - Central Hotel Southaven
Southaven Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Memphis Southaven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Southaven - Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.