We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT ALL HOLIDAY INNS ARE THE SAME” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6485 Frontage Rd., Ridgeland, MS 39157 (Formerly Comfort Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Ridgeland
Navarre, Florida, United States
1 review
“NOT ALL HOLIDAY INNS ARE THE SAME”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is our second and last stay at this motel. We stayed last pm and were disappointed. It looks nice and new from the road and the lobby is appeared nice. But the one working elevator, the dirty carpet in the hallways and room, the nonworking microwave, and the plugged toilet when we got to the room was enough to convince us to stay elsewhere next time. We were too tired to complain about the plugged toilet the night we checked in, but in the morning I walked down to the lobby and asked to have our room's toilet repaired. When nothing happened, my wife called the lobby twice and only after telling them, "this is the last time we will stay here" help came to the room and repaired the toilet .....about 2 hours after I asked for help in person in the lobby. The door to the room had a huge cut around the lock suggesting someone had tried to cut into the door at one time. Look at the dirty carpet in the hallway and room was really annoying and we will not be back. The staff is very nice and the lobby area is attractive. But when you spend most of your time in the room..........you have to wonder why not do better job cleaning the rooms and hallways?????????

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
I would like to sincerely apologize for your stay being less than satisfactory. We appreicate your comments as they are valuable to us, for our continuous improvement. I have addressed your concerns with our Maintenance Department to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. When you back in our area, I would like to invite you to our hotel to experience our "Warm Southern Hospitality.

Thanking you again for your feedback

Sandra B Pryer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
15
3
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Checked in for a business stay. The room was dirty and wet. Bathroom sink leaked onto the floor. Desk chair was broken. I'm pretty sure if I pushed the a/c unit, it would have fallen out. I was able to see outside, around the a/c unit. A used water bottle was behind one of the beds. One of my co-workers swears that fleas were in her room. The hotel had some problems with water running down the walls. They were trying to fix the problems but there were just too many. This hotel needs a major overhaul done, starting with some of the staff. Some of the staff were rude.

Room Tip: None of the rooms are quiet. The walls are paper thin and the hotel sits next to an active railroad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
First of all, let me say thank you for staying with us and completing a review for us on tripadvisor.com

We feel like we have a great location - close to restaurants, shopping and a short distance from the main freeway.

We do our best to take care of our guests and sometimes things out of our control happen. I have personally taken the necessary steps to inform the appropiate departments of the problems raised.

The necessary action has been taken to ensure that the shortfalls you encountered do not happen again in the future.

Once again we do appreciate your much valuable feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here recently on my drive of the Natchez Trace Pkwy-we drove a long way and were looking for something close. Check in was easy. Room walls and ceiling are a bit thin (I don't get why companies can't invest in soundproofing-they'll make their money back). Breakfast was decent-the usual egg patty, biscuit, etc. What was weird was we were missing soap, shampoo, and coffee filter hadn't been cleaned. It felt like someone had been there and then maybe went to another room. We had a suite and I didn't notice any traffic noises. Good for one night when you're tired of driving.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

When arriving at the hotel the lobby smelled like a dirty old sock, so we thought it will be ok in the room. The smell could be from outside or someone that had check in before us. Well we were wrong, the room was even worsts. The carpet, wall and furniture was very dirty at least the sheet on the bed looked clean.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hyatt about 2 miles North....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Roger S,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I appreciate the compliments on our clean linens. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations, and I apologize you were not satisfied with the overall cleanliness of the room and unusual smell in the lobby. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. I hope you will consider us again when you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I attended this hotel on JUly 27th weekend along with my family reunion members. The parking lot was roped off due to cracked pavement, the waffle maker was broke on the first morning, my parents room had bed bugs, the toilet in their room and several others needed a plunger just to flush properly, there was water on the bathroom floor of another family member upon entering, the front desk assistance was ineffective when my parents called down to report the bed bugs. they had to go down to the desk. The person at the desk explained that "this is the south and you will have bugs." only one elevator was working. In reviews listed, others have had these same issues, so nothing has been resolved. Its not clean, it's old and should be renovated immediately. I will be calling the health department and the chamber since the manger is still MIA. Terrible and WILL NOT BE RETURNING.

Room Tip: expect bugs, old furniture and plumbing issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear felicia j,

Thank you for leaving a review and choosing our hotel to host your reunion. I am sorry to hear your group was disappointed. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and cleanliness.

Since there were many people in your group and we would like to discuss their concerns individually. Please ask the guests in your party that did have a concern to personally contact our Customer Care team at 800.621.0555. Thank you.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Upon checking into this hotel the other night, I had some issues with the room's cleanliness. I shared my issues with the hotel manager, who was at the front desk. She took care of the issues and threw in a few "extras" for my troubles.

After having the initial problems resolved, the room is standard Holiday Inn Express quality. The furniture is showing some age, but I see this as no big issue.

I give this hotel a 3 simply because of the age and the wear evident in the furnishings. Otherwise, there is definitely nothing wrong with this hotel. I would stay again at this Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you MSU Engineer,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback, our customer comments are the best way to improve our overall guest satisfaction. Here at The Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Ridgeland, MS we do strive to be the best, and to take care of guests issues within a timely manner. So, that our guests can have a great experience.

Once again thanks for your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Sandra B Pryer
General Manager

I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here two nights May 30th to June 1st.
This hotel is located in a strange location. If you use Mapquest, Google, Bing, etc you will end up in the wrong location. The Holiday Inn Website is even incorrect. If you stay her enter the Drury Inn address which is just next door.

My room was clean. The bed and couch in my King room was comfortable. The bath tub looked dated, but was clean.

The front desk staff was very nice and positive.

Breakfast was good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Thank you twwintn,

For your positive feedback, we're diligently working with Google to correct our map. We do strive to be the best in customer satisfaction with our southern hospitality.

Once again we thank you for your feedback

Sincerely,

Sandra B Pryer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area

Address: 6485 Frontage Rd., Ridgeland, MS 39157 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Ridgeland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Ridgeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area Hotel Ridgeland
Comfort Suites Ridgeland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Ridgeland - Jackson North Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.