We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catfish & Greens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cock of The WALK Restaurant

Cock of The WALK Restaurant
141 Madison Landing Cir, Ridgeland, MS 39157-9243
601-856-5500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 129 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Catfish & Greens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a really fun place to eat. You have two choices for entree: Fried Catfish or Fried Chicken - both are served with fries and hushpuppies. You can also get delicious mustard greens, black eyed peas or cole slaw. Drinks are served in tin cups and you eat off tin pie plates. While waiting for your food you are served hot skillet corn bread and pickled onions. I loved the onions. Service is friendly and quick.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lunch Catfish Meal was Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Exactly what I look for in a catfish lunch; cornbread, greens, hushpuppies, black-eyed peas and great catfish. We had the fried pickles as an appetizer and it was the best I have ever had since they had a very thin layer of breading, perfect. Prices were very reasonable. Going back next time I am in town.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best catfish & sides in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A lot of restaurants claim and have good catfish but few really have great catfish and sides to go with it.
This restaurant does. The cole slaw is to die for and the pickled onions go great with it. Add some mexican corn bread to that and you've got a meal in itself. However those come with the meal and after starting on those you'll soon be greeted with the best catfish, traditional homemade fries, hush puppies & tarter sauce. You'll walk away with leftovers if you order a fish order for each person at the table. However, if your inclined to partake of all the sides and might even order some fried dill pickles & onion rings then I'd suggest only ordering one fish order per person at the table. Oh, they entertain you too by tossing cornbread in the air and catching it in the pan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Catfish in Greater Jackson Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The catfish is very good, but the cornbread is awesome! There is nothing like drinking a cup of cold icewater out of a tin cup. The tartar sauce makes the meal great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Questa, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I'm not from the south so some of the menu was completely new to me - like fried pickles and pickled onions. Surprisingly, I loved it all! The catfish and cornbread were delicious and the view of the reservoir was wonderful. The best part - the staff were awesome! Would definitely return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock of The WALK Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cock of The WALK Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock of The WALK Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.