We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cock of The WALK Restaurant

Cock of The WALK Restaurant
141 Madison Landing Cir, Ridgeland, MS 39157-9243
601-856-5500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 129 Restaurants in Ridgeland
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brandon, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place has great fish and the atmosphere is wonderful. I need to take my daughter soon. She loves that it is right on the water and the waiters that flip the cornbread!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    40
    14
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Mississippi
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Food is fair, but nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The service is slow, but the servers are friendly. The food is served with the fish, fries and hushpuppies all piled together on a tray. Not a good way to serve a large group who don't necessarily know each other well. Overall experience was not bad, but I really can't say that it was good either.There are plenty of better places in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Southern fried catfish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife had never had fried catfish so I brought her here. Now she enjoys a trip here each time we visit Jackson. Nothing outstanding - just good ol' southern fried catfish with all the trimmings. I usually don't like coleslaw but can't get enough of theirs. And if you hav eleft overs take them out to the dock and feed the fish and ducks - a real treat for the kids!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rez, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“terrible food, terrible service, very loud”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Horrible experience--fish was not done, hush puppies were so hard to not be eatable, service was not attentive. Last time I ate here had slimiar experience but was hoping it was a one time --nope this must be the norm now. Surrounding have got woren looking. There were several large groups and none were in the enclosed rooms. It was very loud. Children were running around unattended by parents. Sorry to give such a bad review to a place that used to be so good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very Popular and Rustic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

You cannot leave hungry from this restaurant. The staff gives good advice about how much to order. We were a party of 12, including two small children, and the waitperson told us how much to order, which was perfect. The fried catfish, fries, and hushpuppies come on big family style platters, and the cole slaw in tubs. Very tasty, simple menu. lots of sides available, but their main deal is catfish or chicken, and cornbread.
Added benefit is lovely view of huge lake and lots of ducks and geese and seaguls to feed the leftover bread.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock of The WALK Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cock of The WALK Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cock of The WALK Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.