We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hospitality and lovely home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella B & B

Save Saved
You added Isabella B & B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Isabella B & B
1009 Church Street, Port Gibson, MS 39150   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Port Gibson B&B and Inns
Mt Pleasant, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding hospitality and lovely home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband was riding his bike on the Trace, and this was the perfect stopping point. Bobbye went out of her way to accommodate us that night. We cannot thank her enough. You cannot beat her southern hospitality, as she will take time to visit with you, telling you about the old Victorian home and the area. If it had not been for her we would not have known about the Windsor Ruins. She prepared a wonderful breakfast to send my husband on his way. While in the area, Billy Bob's BBQ is also good. Thank you Bobbye for sharing your home with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnixdesignsinc, Owner at Isabella B & B, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
You are so kind! We are having so much fun meeting people from all over the world. Phil and I feel like we travel every day with our interesting guest. Please come again!
Sincerely, Bobbye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We bicycled from Natchez and this was our first night. Great hospitality and features, in addition to the surrounding town. Bobbye made us sandwiches and lemonade upon arrival, at nominal charge, and gave us some history as she drove us to see the Windsor Ruin which we were too tired to ride to. A great breakfast, wi-fi, A/C in each room, snacks & soft drinks in a bar fridge, and fully licensed so we had an ice-cold Abita beer too. Plenty of common area to read or play games. There's a restaurant for dinner on-site, advance bookings only. Very close to the Trace Parkway and there's a safe route for cyclists. Town is walkable and nearby Church St lives up to its name.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnixdesignsinc, Owner at Isabella B & B, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all our guest. Please come again
Sincerely, Bobbye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The reason this is an excellent property is the house itself, with Tiffany stained windows and wood floors, the location on the Trace between Clinton and Natchez, and especially the owners. They show a genuine hospitality and knowledge of the area.

It is also unusual in that they serve a good evening meal as well, with beer and wine available.

For bikers, they discovered a "back" way to get there without taking the narrow roads connecting the trace. There is a maintenance facility on the Trace, you walk around it to get to the city streets. They will have the details.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnixdesignsinc, Owner at Isabella B & B, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review. The safety of our biking friends is of main concern to us. We enjoy your company. Please come again!
Thanks, Bobbye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a lovely, old, Victorian building with wood inlay floors downstairs and stained glass windows. My favorite feature was the porch swing on the second floor porch. It was very nice to sit out there in the evening.

It's reasonably convenient to the Natchez Trace, and bikes can be brought inside for security. The house is on a well maintained corner property. The one drawback is it's location on a main road by a traffic light. For such a small community, there seemed to be a lot of traffic and noise the night I was there. The window air conditioner did a good job of providing some white noise to cover it though.

The hosts were very pleasant and I enjoyed a nice breakfast made to order in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnixdesignsinc, Owner at Isabella B & B, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can certainly understand the traffic noise, which is totally beyond my control, for Highway 61 is a major route through Port Gibson. Weekend nights are much quieter since the eighteen wheelers do not run as much then.
Thank you, Bobbye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

11 of us did a cycling trip down the Natchez Trace Parkway and ended day 1 of our trip here. It was awesome! We had dinner & breakfast here. For the rest of our trip (a few nights camping & at other B&Bs), we joked about how we wished Bobbie, the Isabella owner, was there to cook and make everything better. If you get a chance to stay a night in Port Gibson stay here. Bobbie and her husband made us feel welcomed and fed us too well! Beds were good. Showers were enormous. We stayed in all the main rooms in the house and everyone loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnixdesignsinc, Owner at Isabella B & B, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It is our goal to make all our guests feel like they are at home while staying with us! We enjoyed all of you. Come again and thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Thanks, Bobbye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After a very long bicycle ride on the Natchez Trace from Jackson to Port Gibson we were exhausted and literally fell into the owner's arms. Bobbye graciously gave us food and drink as we walked in her door. The Isabella is a very old house that has been beautifully rebuilt and furnished. The guest rooms are large and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. And Port Gibson is worth a visit, with important historic significance to the region. Bobbye knows all the stories and will give you a map for wherever you want to go. As we were leaving on our bikes for the journey to Natchez, she insisted on making us lunch for the road.

Room Tip: I think any room would be fine-- choose based on the size bed you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnixdesignsinc, Owner at Isabella B & B, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We enjoyed your visit here with us and were so glad that it was such a pleasure for you to experience! Come visit any time.
Thanks, Bobbye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had such a delightful time at Isabella. We were on our bikes on the Natchez Trace coming from Jackson and got caught in a storm. Bobbie and Phil were so good to us. Let us use the dryer, made us a wonderful dinner it was Easter Sunday, no other guests, we slept well had a great breakfast, Bobbie made us sandwitches to go for the bike trip to Natchez. It was so nice that we stopped in for a wonderful lunch on our return trip. Thanks so much for everything. Tell Brenda the chicken salad was fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinnixdesignsinc, Owner at Isabella B & B, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Brenda will be delighted that you all enjoyed the chicken salad. Thanks you all for brightening our day. We enjoyed your visit.
Thanks, Bobbye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Isabella B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isabella B & B

Address: 1009 Church Street, Port Gibson, MS 39150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Port Gibson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Port Gibson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isabella was built 1880 as a private family home. It was purchased in 2010 from the estate of Miss Isabella Person and through a year long extensive restoration, turned into Isabella B & B. Phil & Bobbye Pinnix enjoy welcoming guest into their home and are delighted to treat them to an evening of rest, relaxation and an exceptional fine dining experience. The menu includes Soup or Gumbo, Salads, Main Entree, Dessert and a full service bar. A delicious southern breakfast is included in the price of the accommodations. Amenities include shampoo, lotion, facial soap, hair dryer, iron and tread mill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Isabella B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isabella B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.