We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk Untrustworthy/Bad AC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Philadelphia-Choctaw

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Philadelphia-Choctaw to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Philadelphia-Choctaw
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15211 Hwy 16 West, Philadelphia, MS 39350   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Philadelphia
NOVA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Front Desk Untrustworthy/Bad AC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Hot Wire booked me, involuntarily, into a smoking room. Julie @ FD told me "we have no other rooms available." So I go up to check if it's an ashtray. Upon return, I get back in line only to watch a person come off the street and ask for a room. She gives him a non-smoking king. When I ask her why she says "you didn't ask for a king," then, "he came from the casino," (not true), then the manager said "maybe there was a cancellation. Then, the AC couldn't keep up with the humidity so we either froze or perspired. Nope, nope, never again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
9
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calhoun City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

I am a frequent guest at Holiday Inn Express hotels around Mississippi, but this would be my FIRST big disappointment with the HIE chain of hotels. I arrived at the hotel around 8:30 p.m. and was somewhat greeted by guest services. I requested that we have late check-out which is generally 2 p.m. and she insisted that I check out at 1:00 p.m. so that housekeeping could "clean my room and get out of here"!!! WOW!! So I agreed.....After arriving to my room, I noticed that because of "fast" cleaning, the staff didn't clean the bathroom very well and as my husband was taking a shower, he mentioned that the water level was not hot at all. The next morning, I called guest services to ask what was going on with the water and she said that she didn't think anything was going on with it and EVERYONE ELSE SAID THAT THEIR STAY WAS WONDERFUL!!! (WHAT!!!) Needless to say I had to take an almost COLD shower because of not having hot water and be treated like EVERYONE ELSE I GUESS!!! A total disappointment...and who runs this hotel. I asked for management and saw him standing outside and he didn't even have the courtesy to come and see what our problem was.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

For the price only 98 dollars per night. This was a great hotel. The breakfast area and food was very good. Room was very clean and smelled clean. TV cable was dark ages but I don't really watch a lot of tv on trips. Only two complaints I have is my daughter has asthma and we always get non-smoking room, that night a waft of smoke blowing under door, I called front desk to find out 3rd floor has non-smoking and smoking rooms which caused my daughter to cough all night. Not a good idea in my opinion. And fitness room air conditioner was broken. The pool looked beautiful and staff was nice. For the price a good place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bessemer,AL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We frequently patronize this Hotel enough for them to know me by my name. Hotel front service is always very courteous. Facility is very nice and good value for the money. However the incident on this stay left a bad taste in the mouth enough not to go back again.one of the 3 coffe cups stacked togather in the bottom had a urine. Night front desk girl came and got the bag with coffe cups. Next day during check out, we enquired about their investigation, but they had no knowledge. She appologized and gave me the General Manager's business card for me to call him. Since we booked the Hotel through third party, they could not do anything about it. I think the Incident was serious enough for Hotel Management to show little more concern and investigate. So much for the Hospitality Gaurantee Posted in every room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed here during Neshoba county fair. Hotel is nice, looks new. Stayed in suite 2 Q's & a pull out. Room was large. Staff friendly. Car battery died & staffer gave me jump. Hot breakfast good, area extreamly hot/no air. Beds not so comfortable. Nice pool, work out area. Location close to everything. I'd stay again. Be sure to join their reward club & receive FREE stays.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Mississippi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We just got back from Philadelphia from the Choctaw Fair and Casinos. The Holiday Inn Express was very nice, the rooms were clean, big, and had all the amenities you could want or need. The mattress was a little firm, but that was no problem for me. Location was great, casinos, geyser falls, etc were all very close and easy to get to. Pool was nice and hotel seems to be fairly new construction. Continental breakfast was very good, biscuits, gravy, sausage, bacon, etc. We will return and Holiday Inn Express will be our choice for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Pleasant staff, clean rooms, free breakfast...got most of the high points right. The suite did not have a wall seperating the sofa room and the beds so I'm not sure I would pay for the upgrade again but overall we had an enjoyable visit.

Only 2 miles or so from the casino. The children (5 & under free, $4.99 for the older kids) can eat at the Silver Star casino buffet (they go in the front door but never can go on the gaming floor.) Also, if you sign up for a players card they will give you $15 free on your card. So the DH and I signed up and got virtually 2 free meals for the family. Also, close to the water park although we encountered rude staff there and won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Philadelphia-Choctaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Philadelphia-Choctaw

Address: 15211 Hwy 16 West, Philadelphia, MS 39350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Philadelphia-Choctaw 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Philadelphia Mississippi is known as the Fair Town of the South. This Mississippi hotel is located near the Philadelphia Mississippi Casino Silver Star and Golden Moon. The town hosts the Choctaw Indian Fair and the Neshoba County Fair once a year. We are also the home of the Pearl River Resort. While just a short drive from Meridian, Mississippi and Forest MS. your family will enjoy visiting the Geyser Falls Water Park or play golf at the Dancing Rabbit Golf Course all located on the Resort. The Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia hotel offers both wired and wireless high speed Internet in all rooms. Free local calls are available to our valued guests. Business travelers enjoy the convenience of our large business center with printer and copy services. Take time to relax in our great outdoor pool. Our interior rooms offer in room iron and ironing board, micro waves, refrigerators, hairdryers and in room coffee makers. Also enjoy our fitness center for your exercise routine. Come see us in the morning and enjoy our complimentary deluxe breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Philadelphia-Choctaw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Philadelphia-Choctaw
Holiday Inn Philadelphia
Philadelphia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Philadelphia-Choctaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.