We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, substandard bathroom” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1226 Philips Lane, Pearl, MS 39208   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 19 hotels in Pearl
Maple Plain, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice staff, substandard bathroom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

There were some good things about this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast lady was especially gracious. The breakfast was fine, and the coffee was pretty good. The bed was comfortable. But all of this was overshadowed by the qualify of the bathroom, which was significantly below the standard I expect from a Comfort Inn. We were in a handicapped accessible room, and the shower was the kind that a wheelchair could roll into. It did not have any curb to hold in the water. The first thing I noticed was that the carpet in front of the bathroom door was wet. I understood why when I took a shower. The water flowed across the floor, along the wall, and toward the door. The door jam showed water damage, with black marks (mold or mildew?). The paint on the bottom edge of the door was also peeling. Other problems: A towel bar was coming off the wall, the plug-in for the hair dryer was cracked and broken, the caulking around the sink and some of the floor tiles had gaps, the metal cover over the facial tissues was corroded, and the grab bars were both corroded. I have attached some photos. (Room 113).

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
2
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Natchez, Mississippi
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The room smelled like cigarette smoke, but it was clean and quite. Front desk check-in was very slow, we had reservations but it seemed to take longer than usual to process them. The person that was trying to check us in was very nice, so I don’t know if it was the system or training that made for such a slow check in process. Breakfast was provided with the room. There are a numerous restaurants within walking distance of the hotel – ask at the front desk for directions since we found our two phone aps gave conflicting directions and distances.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had to travel to Jackson for business and called to make reservations. I stated that I needed two rooms and that it would be the government rate. She said she did have two rooms available at the government rate. I confirmed that it is the rate of $77 per night, the most allowable to be reimbursed for the Jackson area and she said yes. So I stated again.. two rooms at 77 and made sure the dates were correct. We arrived at the hotel after a long day in the field. The lady behind the desk said she only had reservations for one room but that she did have another room available. I told her that I was supposed to have two rooms already and if we could still get the other room for the 77 price quoted. She said no, that the other room reserved was for more than the 77. I said no... it was two rooms at the government price of 77. She called the manager and then said I am sorry we are not going to be able to give you the rooms at that price. I understand it was a busy week and they could easily rent the rooms for more, but there is no excuse for anyone to tell you they are reserving two rooms at the rate discussed only to have you show up and have this happen. I can't comprehend how that can botch this up with today's technology. Long story short, make sure if you call to get a reservation here you get it in writing. I travel frequently and this level customer service is the worst I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnson city tn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We planned on staying 2 nights at this hotel the
second night we stayed they automatically raised our room rate $20 without our knowledge when we asked about it they had no answers we also received no room sercive we had to go down to the front desk for everything no one was of any help and the staff was unfriendly

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AleksandraButler, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are terribly sorry that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We apologize that your interaction with our front desk staff was not a pleasant one. Our rate is driven by occupancy and this information should have been shared with you when you decided to stay second night. Your feedback is very important so we are able to maintain high level of customer service. We regret that you were not happy with your stay. Our goal here at Comfort Inn is to meet all guest request whenever possible. We hope you would give us another chance and consider to stay with us in the feature . Please contact me directly at aleksandrabutler@gmail.com if you wish to continue this dialog. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel while on business. All I can sayis that I was underwelmed. This hotel is far below the standard I have grown to expect from HI. It is the little things like the comfort of the bed, the filthy tile grout and the nice layer of black gunk growing in the corners in the bathroom and door hinges. Oh yeh, the surly staff was a nice touch also. Amazing what a smile and "Good Morning" does to start your day. If nothing else, this stay helps me decide that Hampton is better or me.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear wkelly5688,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay with us. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience. We have sent you a private message with more information. I look forwarding to hearing back from you.

Sincerely,
Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here primarily because my son loves their cinnamon rolls. We paid $85 for the room, thinking that was a pretty attractive rate. The staff was excellent and went out of their way for us on a couple of occasions, but the room left a lot to be desired. This hotel is an older property and the décor and space are not up to HIE standards. You will listen to your room air-conditioner cycle on and off all night, and the light from the parking lot will keep you awake because the curtains (single layer) are inadequate to fully cover the window. The beds were the biggest surprise…normally a HIE strong suite, these beds were no telling how old. The surface was soft, but the bed sagged several inches in the middle. This felt more like a Motel 6 to me. That said, the breakfast was very good and the staff was great. But we will opt for the Hampton Inn next door on the next trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

On the morning I was checking out of this hotel (after two extremely long days of meetings and before I was to take a 6-hour drive back home) I was awakened by the housekeeping staff at 7:45 am.

When I checked with the front desk as to why I was awakened I was told there had been a mistake and was given a sincere and heartfelt apology. Unfortunately after that I was awakened by the housekeeping staff beating on my door TWO more times in the hour after I called the front desk.

Evidently although check out is 11 am the policy at this place is to get guests up and out before 9 am. It worked that morning because even though I wanted to sleep in get some rest before I had to drive I could not rest and finally got up and checked out around 9:30.

What an absolutely terrible morning!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1226 Philips Lane, Pearl, MS 39208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Pearl
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 hotels in Pearl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located next to Jackson Airport, the Comfort Inn® in Pearl, Mississippi is a great place to stay while visiting the area. Sites we recommend visiting while in Mississippi include: Trustmark Park, Bass Pro, Lefleur Bluff State Park, Mississippi State Fair Grounds, Miss Forestry Museum. Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pearl-Jackson Intl Arpt Hotel Pearl
Holiday Inn Pearl
Pearl Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.