We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a sandwich counter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pirate's Cove

Pirate's Cove
208 Menge Ave at 2nd St, Pass Christian, MS 39571
(228) 452-4741
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just a sandwich counter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is hard to find. if you're coming from the beach, you have to CROSS OVER the rail road tracks, don't turn at the stop sign. It's a wooden shack with picnic tables on an outside porch as the only seating, and a porta-potty right in front. Yes, I'm not kidding. Po boys OK but not spectacular. Pick up sandwiches here to take to beach, don't plan to take grandma for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Shrimp po' boy takes you to heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Housed in what appears to be a FEMA trailer, it doesn't look like much, but boy oh boy, what a sandwich! Perfectly lightly fried shrimp with tangy sauce and an ice cold beer served on outdoor picnic tables shared with the local crowd. Friendliest people on earth. Others at the table were sighing over the beef po'boy, too. Every kind of po' boy imaginable, they appear to serve it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best Po' Boys on the Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Pirate's Cove has by far the best shrimp po' boys on the MS Coast. It's been my favorite for 25+ yrs and retains its great food at affordable prices (@ $9.00 for shrimp) after being destroyed in Hurricane Katrina. The no-frills, semi outdoor atmosphere is appropriate and way beyond casual. Everyone should give this Robin Roberts favorite eatery a try when visiting the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kinda disappointed....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Drove over from Gulfport under a recommendation. We might have caught them on a bad day. I had the roast beef which was good. Wife and daughter had flat cokes and they had run out of lettuce for the sandwiches. Ummm, ok, no lettuce. Anyway, price was average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband grew up on the coast in Gulfport and made many trips to Pirate's Cove for the roast beef poboy. When we met he raved about the poboys and Barq's root beer. After eating my first poboy there many year ago I found nothing to rave about. After Katrina I still found nothing to rave about like my husband and his family. We visited Pass Christian, Ms. the 4th of July weekend and made a point to have a roast beef poboy again. When we got there it was so crowded we left. We went back the next day to find out that they were filming an episode of food restaurants for a network food channel. We thought wow, improvement. But to our disappointment the roast beef poboy was messy as usual but very bland. No taste at all. Very disappointed in the food. The service was great as usual and if you like dining with flies outside under the covered patio on dirty tables then this place is for you. The view is not on the beach and if you need to use the restroom then you have to use a port o potty. And if you need to wash your hands then the wall sink on the patio is what you get. I'm sure I will be back as my husband and his family consider this a tradition in their families.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate's Cove also viewed

 

Been to Pirate's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirate's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.