We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great out of the way cafe with excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Front Porch Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Front Porch Cafe
12437 Vidalia Rd, Pass Christian, MS 39571-8321
228-255-4080
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Gulfport, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great out of the way cafe with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The atmosphere is great with the cafe being in an old house. The chicken fried chicken and real mashed potatos and gravy was great with large portion for lunch. I love fried green tomatoes and these with the meal were perfect, thin cut with not a lot of breading and not greasy. Service was awesome. Worth the drive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
central PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice lunch on a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped for lunch on a rainy weekday. The food was well-prepared and the service was friendly and efficient. It was a relaxing stop on a long drive. Worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Fun to Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a treat to find such good food away from beah front tourism. Not too far from Kiln and the Lazy Magnolia Brewery, this comfortable and friendly cafe offered very good, local fare. We shared the "porch" with colorful local characters that only enhanced our experience. We would definitely return at every opportunity.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A hidden gem that's worth the drive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I'm suspecting the chef is from New Orleans! We've been there 4 or 5 times now and can't get enough. Friendly staff with a menu that will please multiple personalities. The shrimp and grits are to die for!
Leave room for cheesecake beignets!!!!
Can't wait to return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“In the woods”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Rather out in the woods, did not feel food was all that special. Seems locals like it there, kid friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Front Porch Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Front Porch Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Front Porch Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.