We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1808 Jackson Avenue West, Oxford, MS 38655 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Gotha, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Dingy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Not up to par for a Comfort Inn. We were very disappointed. We had originally planned to stay 2 nights but cancelled the second. Our son had checked out this hotel while looking for places for guests to stay the weekend of his wedding. He warned us but we just thought he was expecting too much; he was right!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    11
    8
    24
See reviews for
20
9
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

As an Elite Choice Privileges member, I am comparing this stay with a stay at a Quality Inn/Suites. The Quality Inn was 10,000 pts. and this stay was 12,000 pts. This hotel was old, dirty carpet, ice machine worked but was all broken where you set your ice bucket. The staff, however, was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We booked online through a third party and requested a non-smoking room. When we arrived, the clerk said all they had was smoking. When I protested, she went on a diatribe about people who book online through third party sites and complained rather bitterly about the low reimbursement the hotel was paid by online bookers. Her basic message seemed to be, "we HAVE to take these bookings, but we really don't want you here". When we went to the room, there was no phone, the cleanliness was not great, the bathroom door didn't shut right, the toilet made a loud shrieking noise when flushed, and the inside door handle fell off when we tried to go out! We complained (even though the clerk did not cease her cell phone conversation) and when we returned from dinner there was a phone and the door handle was fixed. The location is excellent for both the university and the square, but fairly noisy. In a small town with limited hotel resources and high demand, there didn't seem to be much motivation to have an attitude of service here.

Room Tip: If you book through a third party, you should call the hotel directly and verify your reservation if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have stayed here twice and each of the stays were for a week. The general manager, Laura Nichole Hood, is awesome and her staff is very friendly. I traveled to Oxford from Texas and my stay at this motel was great. The general manager has the charm of a Texas gal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

this hotel charged me for nights i did not stay there! i have been trying to get a hold of this hotel's manager for WEEKS to get a refund and the front desk people have not even been able to find/send me a receipt for the nights that were charged to my card! (how is it possible to get charged and not have receipts available for the people you charge???) every time i call the front desk person tells me the manager is not in and will be in later. when i call back for the manager she's still not in. i'm beginning to think she doesn't exist! they say her name is laura, and i have left messages for laura multiple times, so laura if you're out there you may want to pick up the slack! i am very unsatisfied with this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our room was very nice (202). It was clean and did not smell. It was updated and had everything we needed. It was quite and comfortable. I would stay here again. I don't understand what a lot of people in other reviews were complaining about.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This motel is within walking distance of Ole Miss, if you don't mind walking a mile or so. A bus that has a stop right outside will take you to the campus and Courthouse Square for a dollar, fifty cents for seniors. The motel building is not new, but we found the maintenance to be satisfactory. Our non-smoking room betrayed no evidence of previous smokers. The staff was polite and helpful. The breakfast was filling if not gourmet: biscuits and sausage gravy, waffles, bagels, fresh fruit, etc. There are many restaurants nearby, including some with decent ethnic cuisines. For the price, this motel was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn and Suites

Address: 1808 Jackson Avenue West, Oxford, MS 38655 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Of Oxford Hotel Oxford
Comfort Inn Oxford
Oxford Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.