We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the tenders and the bread” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abner's Famous Chicken Tenders

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Abner's Famous Chicken Tenders
1927 Jackson Ave W, Oxford, MS 38655-4205
662-236-3095
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 140 Restaurants in Oxford
Restaurant details
Oxford, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“love the tenders and the bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I love you can choose grilled or fried tenders. We've been trying to eat better and the grilled tenders are really good and juicy. The bread is an indulgence for me. yummy

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Chick Filet has No Worries”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Chick Filet has no worries with this chain. Dry chicken and greasy fries. Not impressed at all, sorry Abner's

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“So I had a Philly cheese steak sandwich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was close t the hotel and we wanted to try this famous sandwich.It was good but not a sandwich that I would eat often.I am glad that we had it and I think the place made it the way it should be.Worth a visit if you want a quick local treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best dipping sauce ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Zaxby's is left far behind when you eat at Abner's. The chicken is cooked better and more flavorful. And the sauce, which Zaxby's clearly attempted to replicate but failed miserably, has a much fresher taste. The sauce is so good I like to dip my bread and fries in it and will always pay for extra sauces because one container is nowhere near enough for a meal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good fried or grilled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My family stops in to Abner's several time a year. While simply Southern style fastfood, the chicken stips are always cooked just right (never dried out). While I do not get excited about chicken strips and fries, my children always enjoy this type of stuff.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abner's Famous Chicken Tenders also viewed

 

Been to Abner's Famous Chicken Tenders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abner's Famous Chicken Tenders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.