We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner with daughter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lamar Lounge

The Lamar Lounge
1309 N Lamar Blvd, Oxford, MS
+1 662-513-6197
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 132 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Oxford, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Dinner with daughter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My 12 year old loved the Lamar Burger and fries and cleaned her plate. She is so hard to please but loved Lamar lounge .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Coolest Place I Have Been to in a While!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

It is a blast from the past...looks like an old 70's lounge, complete with old-fashioned (bur working) cigarette machine! I like it a lot. Not only is it a bar, the food is great. We tried several appetizers and a Rueben sandwich. All of it was good...BBQ pork rinds, tamales, and the Rueben, which was strange because it didn't have kraut but slaw instead! It was pretty good though. We liked the fact that there was an older crowd and not the usual Oxford student crowd. I would recommend this place to anyone. I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Smoked meats are a specialty at Lamar Lounge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Boasting to be the only smoked pit whole hog bbq in Mississippi, Lamar Lounge serves pulled pork, smoked brisket, smoked sausage, smoked turkey and smoked jerk chicken. All items are excellent but the beef brisket and the chicken are our favorites. The sides include baked potato, fries, greens, and other choices. Fried apple pie, pecan pie and banana cream pie are offered as deserts. The bar belonged to Eddie Fisher, the 1950s singer/movie star. Since the original owners of the Lounge were the owners of Fat Possum Records, the Lounge has an excellent sound system for visiting performers. All profits from Lamar Lounge are donated to area not-for-profit organizations. Thank you, John.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“GOOD Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I went for lunch, had an excellent burger.
Fun little restaurant, look for the sign which says bar. I'd call ahead the place was full, we were lucky to get a table,
Had the sausage and cheese platter, followed by a really good burger, and I know a good burger, and this place makes a great burger. Free refills on sodas.
All good, I will go back. Service was also fantastic and friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Raw then burnt”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Today I ordered a hamburger steak when it came out I can see blood in the gravy pressed on the burger and blood ran all out. The waiter took it back and when it came out it was burned so badly that I could not cut it with a fork. I turned it over and it was burned so badly the fork would not even penetrated. The waiter was very apologetic and embarrassed offered to give me anything else I wanted but at that time I wasn't hungry anymore they did not charge me for the meal. Having been in the restaurant business I don't see how any cook of any count would ever send out meat like that to a customer he/she wouldn't be working for me very long.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lamar Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The Lamar Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lamar Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.