We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family night dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rice & Spice

Rice & Spice
1520 W Jackson Ave, Oxford, MS
(662) 801-9338
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 141 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
University, Mississippi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Family night dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We took the children out to eat. Great place to eat rice and spice .The service is good the food is great. We will be going back again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mississippi Thai ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Riding the Trans America Trail from East to West coast throws all kinds of eating experiances your way, many of which are just plain unkind. Travelers familiar with Asia sometimes just must have a rice based dish and something that does not ferment for days in ones internal organs as is the case with so much American food.
The three of us chose Rice and Spice and it looked promising, standard fare of Asian travelers being a Pra Goon, green pork curry, fresh white rice and daringly the rice and spice stir fry.
Now when the waiter asks what kind of heat leve ?l you understand that the Americanization of this Restaurant has been completed.
we chose number 5 being hot, prompt service, fair prices, and a el cheepo cafe look was all a good start.
The food ? Now we were very hungry having not eaten since breakfast and this being 9pm and after a few beers, the pragoon was fair , oily as I prefer mine moist bordering on dry, the green curry pork delightful and the flavor and heat level unknown, the plain rice was ok, and the American Thai rice and spice stir fry was at best bland.
So when you consider that this is Mississippi this Thai meal was just ok, flavor ? Lacking in freshness and taste but certainly inoffensive, value ok, service ok, and if your hungry and want a snap shot of what could have been tasty then this place is just ok.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Small restaurant on the main drag through Oxford. But, a great restaurant. Tremendous value for money, great service and fantastic food. Another must visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
199 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Rice & Spice still the best Asian in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Rice & Spice Thai Restaurant continues to offer fresh, tasty Asian dishes. Last visit we had Tum Yum soup [one with chicken, the other with shrimp]. Followed this with vegetarian spring rolls, pad kra prow [pork sauteed with garlic, onion, bell peppers, chili, broccoli, carrot and black beans], and pad king [chicken sauteed with fresh ginger, green onions, bell pepper, celery]. Service is alway very good, portions ample, prices great. The restaurant is sleek, clean and attractive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pad Thai Rocks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My family and I eat at Rice and Spice at least twice a month. The food is delicious. Everything that we've tried has been great but our favorites are Pad Thai, Cashew Chicken, Yellow Curry and Panang Curry. You pick the number of spice and we never go over a 2..and for the Panang a 1..pretty spicy, but delicious. They also have yummy desserts. Be sure to try the fried ice cream and the fried banana with ice cream. The place is always busy, but food comes out in a very timely manner. If you love Thai food..try Rice and Spice ..you will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice & Spice also viewed

 

Been to Rice & Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rice & Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.