We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ole fashioned style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Restaurant

Beacon Restaurant
1200 North Lamar Boulevard, Oxford, MS 38655
(662) 234-5041
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 131 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good ole fashioned style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Awesome breakfast, sausage and eggs. It's an old school style eatery. Great service, and fantastic diner style food. Well priced, if you are in Oxford MS, you must have a breakfast here.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, but about the same as every other breakfast place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had breakfast at Beacon the morning of March 26, 2014. I had just a traditional breakfast of eggs, sausage, and hash browns. The hash browns were interesting. They were cubed potatoes with onion cooked with them. The were really done just right. The eggs were sunny side up, and perfect. The sausage was patty sausage, and they weren't skimpy patties. I also had toast. I was disappointed that they don't serve butter. They serve a butter substitute, and it wasn't very good. The tab with coffee was a little over $7.00. That is really less than other places like that, and I felt that it was a good value. Overall, the meal was good, but no better than average overall.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Not worth the hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The bathrooms were disgusting which I makes you wonder what the kitchen looks like. Some of our food was cold. I have been to tons of diners so know what to expect in a "greasy spoon", but I am sure there has to be better options in Oxford.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Like Going home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been going to this place since my law school days and continue to go there 30 years later. Fine people and fine food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went here per my daughters suggestion (she is a student at Ole Miss)...no crowds, good food. Nothing fancy...AT ALL....decor hasnt changed since it opened years and years ago, I feel sure. But the service was excellent and friendly and the breakfast was perfect. WIll definitely go back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beacon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Beacon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.