We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet, comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Oxford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Heritage Drive, Oxford, MS 38655   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxford
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quiet, comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Near w. Jackson entrance to UM, Work out room adequate. Am breakfast was very good. The "suite" had a partial 3-4 foot wall between the bed and the sofa. Staff friendly. Note, no pool for the kids. Entrance off of Jackson is a bit tricky, be careful!

Room Tip: 2nd floor suites had a view of the back loading dock....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear alex v

We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
13
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We visited Oxford for just one day and again chose to stay in an HIE Hotel. The price sat nicely with our budget and the standard of rooms and hotel was again high. Cheerful reception staff nice clean rooms and great night sleep. Free Wi-Fi really is a bonus as it helped us to plan our next part of our journey and keep in touch with family in the UK. The price includes a more than adequate breakfast and too be honest in doing so it saves all the messing about in the morning if you have to leave the hotel to find food to start the day. The location (not that it mattered too much to us) was but a few minutes drive into the main square in Oxford.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place edges out Hampton Inn by a hair. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are just a tad nicer than the next door Hampton and the breakfast is great! It is a great location for Ole Miss football weekends! There is a shared shuttle during football weekends. Makes it very easy to go out to eat/shopping at The Square without the hassle of parking before and after the games. Close to decent restaurants, a CVS and Walmart.
It will be great when more hotels open so we can all stop paying 350.00 for a Holiday Inn/Hampton room in Oxford, MS.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Checked in late, no problem. Rooms had just been updated. Paint was still fresh in the hall.
Breakfast was over the top. Plenty of everything. Staff was very friendly, both at check in and check out. Will be back.

Room Tip: Good options on the rooms with the mini suites at about the same cost as a regular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were in town for one night and decided to use some priority club points for a night's stay. The hotel was extremely clean and appeared to be new. The staff was friendly and the room was very quiet. The bed was very comfortable and all the linens were fresh. The breakfast was not as good as some H I locations I have been to, but hey, it's free. Anyway, I highly recommend this to anyone in town!

Room Tip: I always recommend high floor away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently stayed here, and the experience was OK. When we checked in, the only agent there was on a personal call. We waited for her to get off her call to help us. The tone of the conversation was unpleasant, which did not create a comfortable start. She was pleasant when she checked us in, however. We walked to the room and returned through the lobby to unpack the car. She was back on the unpleasant conversation. We talked to a friend in the lobby, and she told us we were talking too loud, and she could not hear the person on the phone. The conversation did not seem that loud, but she was obviously unhappy. We moved everything to the room, left through the lobby to go to dinner, and she still was on a pretty unpleasant personal call. It just really leant an unpleasant vibe in the area.

The room itself was fine, and it appeared to be clean. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, and the room was a comfortable temperature when we arrived. There was also a ceiling fan, which we liked. The shower had plenty of hot water, but the tub did not drain well. After a maybe 10 minute shower, the water was up to my ankles.

The workout area left a bit to be desired. Only 1 of the 4 machines was (mostly) working. The treadmill nearest the entrance worked all right, but it was not fully functioning. Every time I increased the speed over 3.8 mph, it slowed and stopped. It could have been user error, but none of the others would even turn on. Perhaps they needed batteries. There was also no battery in the TV remote. There were a few fans, the temperature was great, and there were plenty of towels available.

The breakfast was fine. There was yogurt, cereal, cinnamon rolls, juices, eggs, biscuits, gravy, etc. Everything was fresh, and the area was clean and maintained.

As I am reading through this review, it sounds like some petty complaints. They are. But I thought it would be important for others perhaps considering a stay here. If the most important thing is a comfortable room, this one was good. Service is a bit lacking.

Room Tip: Only a couple miles to the Ole Miss campus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear LaurieTN,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciated your room accommodation. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the service you received, the tub and fitness center. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This holiday inn express was just ok. The staff was nice and helpful. The room seemed very moist or sticky. Not sure what that was all about. The shower was a rainstorm and the towels were paper thin. Did I mention the staff was nice? Won't book this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Chip G,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I appreciate the kind words for the staff. Please accept my sincerest apologies over the room's condition. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford-West
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oxford Conference Center
3.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
No photo provided
Comfort Suites Batesville
#1 of 8 in Batesville
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
21.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Batesville
Holiday Inn Batesville
#2 of 8 in Batesville
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
21.1 mi away
Quality Inn Batesville
Quality Inn Batesville
#5 of 8 in Batesville
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Address: 112 Heritage Drive, Oxford, MS 38655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oxford is located in the heart of Oxford, Mississippi and 3 miles from the Ole Miss campus. This interior corridor hotel features 81 elegantly appointed guest rooms including 34 suites, complimentary deluxe Continental breakfast, an elevator, coin operated guest laundy, a fitness center and business center. All rooms feature 2 two-line telephones, voice mail, data ports, high speed Internet acess, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, work desk, ergonomic chair, ceiling fans. All suites feature micro/refrigerators with wet bar and sleeper sofa. All basic rooms have microwave/refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.