We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Oxford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
112 Heritage Drive, Oxford, MS 38655   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We recently stayed here, and the experience was OK. When we checked in, the only agent there was on a personal call. We waited for her to get off her call to help us. The tone of the conversation was unpleasant, which did not create a comfortable start. She was pleasant when she checked us in, however. We walked to the room and returned through the lobby to unpack the car. She was back on the unpleasant conversation. We talked to a friend in the lobby, and she told us we were talking too loud, and she could not hear the person on the phone. The conversation did not seem that loud, but she was obviously unhappy. We moved everything to the room, left through the lobby to go to dinner, and she still was on a pretty unpleasant personal call. It just really leant an unpleasant vibe in the area.

The room itself was fine, and it appeared to be clean. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, and the room was a comfortable temperature when we arrived. There was also a ceiling fan, which we liked. The shower had plenty of hot water, but the tub did not drain well. After a maybe 10 minute shower, the water was up to my ankles.

The workout area left a bit to be desired. Only 1 of the 4 machines was (mostly) working. The treadmill nearest the entrance worked all right, but it was not fully functioning. Every time I increased the speed over 3.8 mph, it slowed and stopped. It could have been user error, but none of the others would even turn on. Perhaps they needed batteries. There was also no battery in the TV remote. There were a few fans, the temperature was great, and there were plenty of towels available.

The breakfast was fine. There was yogurt, cereal, cinnamon rolls, juices, eggs, biscuits, gravy, etc. Everything was fresh, and the area was clean and maintained.

As I am reading through this review, it sounds like some petty complaints. They are. But I thought it would be important for others perhaps considering a stay here. If the most important thing is a comfortable room, this one was good. Service is a bit lacking.

Room Tip: Only a couple miles to the Ole Miss campus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear LaurieTN,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciated your room accommodation. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the service you received, the tub and fitness center. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
31
11
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This holiday inn express was just ok. The staff was nice and helpful. The room seemed very moist or sticky. Not sure what that was all about. The shower was a rainstorm and the towels were paper thin. Did I mention the staff was nice? Won't book this hotel again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Chip G,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I appreciate the kind words for the staff. Please accept my sincerest apologies over the room's condition. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

You rarely find a nice room that also accommodates a family travelling with a pet but this hotel did both. The reservation process was easy and they took good care of placing us near a side exit for easy access with my dog without disrupting other guests who may not appreciate her. The beds were very comfortable and spacious and the room was very clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and met all our needs. Good location from the freeway and plenty of places to get a bite, whether you want to sit down or just grab something fast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Came to Oxford for a visit and was very pleased with the HIE. There was some paint damage to our bathroom but the staff gave us a break on our rate. The employees were very polite and helpful, the breakfast was as good as I have had at any HIE, and the hotel was kept clean and neat. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddleston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at 4 different Holiday Inn Express locations in the past week and a half, this was a HUGE disappointment. Yes, the lobby and breakfast area are updated, and the rooms are too, sort of.

Peeling new paint in the bathroom, AC worked, a little bit. Very muggy and humid despite AC being turned low. Very nice comfortable beds, and celing fan in the room was great. But... I guess we were spoiled coming from the HI Express in Gonazales, LA, which is brand new. And... the worst part is that the new, fabulous HIE in Gonzales was about the same price as this TIRED HIE in Oxford. About $100 a night is WAY too much.

The breakfast was also a far cry from other HIE locations we have visited.

We also recently stayed at a HIE in Commerce, GA. It's an "older" property - but it was about $70 a night. You get what you pay for. $100 for Oxford was ridiculous.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear carterkatt,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. Your comments about the air conditioner has been documented and will certainly be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a quick trip pop up to Oxford, one of my favorite places. I used to stay at this HIE bout 10 years ago, so I thought it might be dated. Far from it! Like new hotel, lobby and room are great. Very well appointed; I would stay here again. High recommendation here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had a quick business trip on short notice. Was able to book at a good rate was clean and comfortable plus the Internet was fast which is a plus for me! Breakfast was good with lots of choices that met all of my needs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Address: 112 Heritage Drive, Oxford, MS 38655
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Oxford is located in the heart of Oxford, Mississippi and 3 miles from the Ole Miss campus. This interior corridor hotel features 81 elegantly appointed guest rooms including 34 suites, complimentary deluxe Continental breakfast, an elevator, coin operated guest laundy, a fitness center and business center. All rooms feature 2 two-line telephones, voice mail, data ports, high speed Internet acess, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, work desk, ergonomic chair, ceiling fans. All suites feature micro/refrigerators with wet bar and sleeper sofa. All basic rooms have microwave/refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.