We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added University Inn to your Saves list
University Inn
1101 Frontage Road, Oxford, MS 38655   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Natchez, Mississippi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Went for weekend to
Ole Miss Arkansas Game
Rooms had mold a terrible odor
People outside talking in foreign
Language , walked in cut on a fuzzy TV left the keys on the lamp table , and walked out paid
396.00 and left no way I could have stayed there WOW it is
Disgusting , we went to a friends condo and slept on the Floor
DO NOT STAY there

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    2
    4
    21
See reviews for
8
8
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Campo, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

With limited choices in Oxford on a home football game weekend I chose to stay at this property at the last minute. What a mistake. The hotel is in desperate need of a renovation and cleaning. The rooms smelled of mildew (there was mildew on the ceiling), the carpets were disgusting, the wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the a/c sounded like it was going to blow up, the linens were stained, and the shower would not drain. The only quality this hotel has is its proximity to the square and campus. This hotel was definitely not worth the rates charged on the game weekends. Do not stay at this hotel unless you are not bothered by any of the above.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I'm presently at this hotel and no other rooms are avaiable in Oxford. Tried to switch! It's dirty, unkept, needs maintenance , noisy, people hanging around on balconies, loud music, linens scary, people are loud, light bulbs out, old and run down. Use to be a Days Inn. No standards or guidelines here! DO NOT STAY !

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else! Oxford is such a great place , needs a complete redo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had reserved a room here about two months ago and when I called a couple of days ahead of time to tell them of my late arrival they could not find my reservation. I had all the pertinent information and give it to the clerk. After looking for a few minutes he came back on and told me he did not have a reservation for me. He went on Days Inn's national website and they had booked me into the Days Inn in Oxford, England. The website that I booked from had the Mississippi address and photos and description on the page but it booked me in the wrong one. The clerk told me that this has happened on more than one occasion. I was fortunate in that he had a cancellation just a few minutes before I called and I was able to get a room. When I arrived to check in another man was in there with the same problem and one was holding on the phone with the same problem also. Days Inn needs to correct this problem from their national office. There must be a glitch in the booking software. Of course being it was a football weekend the hotel jacked the price up to four times the normal rate and for a room at this hotel at that price is a shame for sure. The clerk was very helpful but the room was not very clean, the towels are like sandpaper, and the continental breakfast was probably the poorest that I have ever had. If you have any other choice I would recommend that you stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: For a ballgame weekend book a year in advance and and book somewhere else if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I was here for a buisness conference and had the worst hotel experince I've ever had. The room smelled of mildew and had mold growing in various spots. The paint on the walls was chipped and the carpet appeared as though it had NEVER been cleaned. The bedding also appeared as if it had NEVER been cleaned; it was stained and ripped all over. The worst part of the whole stay was finding bed bugs in my room. All in all, a horrible hotel experience. Would NOT recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MS
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Had to make a last minute reservation and all other nearby hotels were booked. I can now see why Days Inn had vacancies even in this small town where hotel rooms can be hard to come by on a weekend.

Service was pleasant enough, and the lobby was clean and well lit, but this is an old, dirty hotel otherwise. The room was musty and dank, the a/c unit was loud and ineffective. I found dark stains on the sheets and multiple stains on all bath towels. The hand towels and waschloths were clearly old and needed to be thrown away. The bathroom and toilet were old and filthy and the toilet leaked onto the floor. The shower did not drain properly. The sheets and comforters were old and smelled bad. Refrigerator worked, however.

The continental breakfast is just. What was there was served in a dirty room, the trash wasn't emptied, and the coffee was dreadful and old.

I suspect any other hotel in Oxford would be preferable to the Days Inn. Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: A room in the back is likely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Gnats flying in room, mold in/on bathroom wall, carpet and tile unclean. Overall disgusting. We moved after one night. Only stay here if it is a choice of being here or having to sleep outdoors.
Darn near ruined our trip to an Ole Miss alumni reunion. Stayed one night and was scared to sleep. Bed also sounded like it was broken. Rooms clearly have not been cleaned in ages. Tile felt sticky. I am not exagerrating and I've attached photos. Got up at 7 a.m. and called other hotels until I could find a room. Will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here -- that's your tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 1101 Frontage Road, Oxford, MS 38655
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the Heart of the Beautiful town of Oxford, MS. Home to the University of Mississippi Also Known as the Great Ole Miss. We offer Daybreak Breakfast each morning from 6a-9a daily. We have Meeting/Banquet Facilities, a Business Center & a Seasonal Outdoor Pool. Many restaurants & Shopping is nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.