We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular Place for a Reason!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snackbar

Snackbar
721 N. Lamar, Oxford, MS
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Snackbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 139 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Douglas Street
Columbus, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Popular Place for a Reason!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was my first time to SnackBar and I found that the name is deceiving. This is more of a fine dining establishment that is more value priced. I enjoyed the atmosphere, the food, and the service. I would recommend but it is not overwhelmingly "anything" special. People "needed" reservations but no one had any...

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batesville, Mississippi
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Expensive/Unusual Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I liked this place; my husband did not. They are very accommodating when you make strange requests like we do for cocktails. They also have oysters on the half shell, which I do not eat but looked good. They are famous for their lobster mac and cheese, which hardly has any lobster, but now they only have that one night a week, I believe. I ate a shrimp dish, which was good. I gave it an average because of our very expensive bill.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Portions are Small...Service is Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our family of 9 had dinner here this evening. The food at their sister restaurant BBB next door was great this morning but Snackbar was a huge disappointment. Portions are small, service was slow, and there is a $2 plate charge per person if you want to cut your own cake and serve it for a special occasion. Even in Atlanta we have never heard of such a charge and it was really a big turn off. Overall it was an average experience in Oxford and there are certainly much better places to go in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service. Loud!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

First, let me say the food and service were exemplary at Snackbar. Tastes were subtle, well-controlled, beautifully seasoned. Service was swift and professional. I would definitely return to Snackbar. But...the lawyer sitting at the bar next to us nearly ruined our evening. He was loud and profane and, worse, consistent. Had he been home, preparing for court, our meal would have been practically perfect.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious but can be pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

If looking for a special dinner out, I recommend the Snackbar. There is a varied menu with something for everyone looking for a great meal. If you don't want to spring for the expensive dinner items, the hamburger will not disappoint. Call for reservations because there is usually a wait

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snackbar also viewed

 

Been to Snackbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snackbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.