We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent oyster bar, average cooked food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snackbar

Snackbar
721 N. Lamar, Oxford, MS
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Snackbar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 140 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Douglas Street
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent oyster bar, average cooked food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Snackbar excels at fresh raw oysters, which is really the only reason I go there. The cooked food the food is average and I don't enjoy the ambience as I find it too dark. But if you want great oysters, it's the place to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“In a word: excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had dinner at the Snackbar on the Thursday before Thanksgiving and the entire experience was excellent. The place was hopping (reservations definitely recommended) and the food was awesome. We had Apalachicola oysters, bone marrow (how rare is it to find that in MS?), and the best grouper dish I've ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Last Chance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

So many people seem to like this restaurant ! I must be too much of a foodie, I guess! The portions are very small for the price. They definitely serve "females" smaller portions ...same price, though! Hostess was rude, and didn't honor our reservation table preference. We should have left then! Soup was tasty. Salads very small and plain. Entrees looked like microwaved appetizers. We're done!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“we enjoyed the snackbar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I thought it was very professional. We were there on a Friday Night on a football weekend , and these used their breakfast place next door (BBB) for overflow seating. I had the "coq a la alsace(?)", a white wine version of coq au vin , and it was excellent. Their wine list was good and reasonably priced. I give them points for handling such a crowd on such a "zoo" weekend.We've done the Square scene before and this was a little quieter and a more relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So Much for Southern Hospitality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the second year in a row that we traveled to Oxford for a game weekend. I have to say that our experience was the exact opposite this year as compared to 2012. Snackbar was the leading contributor to this bad experience without a doubt. Actually the rest of the weekend was pretty good once it was over. Snackbar just really left a bad taste in our mouths to begin the weekend.

We had a 8:30pm reservation on a Friday night. This reservation was made by a local friend several months in advance and confirmed the day of. We arrived 20 minutes early and started to enjoy the atmosphere of sitting outside, having drinks, and making new friends. After sitting there for an hour and watching six other large groups arrive and be immediately seated I spoke to the hostess. She was a complete b-word and clearly could have cared less that we were still sitting outside. She even claimed that our reservation was at 9:30pm, not 8:30pm. This was later proven to be wrong, but she didn't apologize once. It was clear that the restaurant was letting the locals and friends be seated first. It was a sea of red and blue.

The acting manager did her best to fix the problem by giving us free drinks and aps. However, at 10:30pm, two hours after our reservation it was clear we were still no where close to being seated. The straw that broke our backs was a conversation we overheard between a waitress and the hostess. They were laughing because they had purposely seated several groups in front of us just because they didn't like out of towners. Needless to say it ruined our night as we were not able to find another place to eat and we missed meeting our friends on the square. We finally settled for pizza delivery back at our rented house at 1am in the morning.

Snackbar was a joke and full of snobs. So much for southern hospitality. Run for the hills on this one. There are many other great restaurants in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snackbar also viewed

 

Been to Snackbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snackbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.