We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B & B in EXCELLENT location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 5 Twelve

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 5 Twelve
Save
You added The 5 Twelve to your Saves list
512 Van Buren Ave., Oxford, MS 38655   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Moraga, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming B & B in EXCELLENT location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just stayed for the first time during my daughters Orientation. Keith and his staff are wonderful! Sad we missed the breakfast! It sounded amazing. Next time...because there will be many visits in the future.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a very large KING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
27
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My son and I called at the last minute for a king size room and lucked up that it was a slow Tuesday night. We turned out to be the only guests that evening. We were in room 2 which was lovely and very comfortable. The home cooked breakfast was divine!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed overnight for a college visit at Ole Miss. Beautiful home in a friendly neighborhood. Loved everything about the stay. Room 6 is the converted attic. Queen on one end, twin on the other, galley with seating in between. Only one bathroom, a bit tight, but with a full bath. May be a bit warm in summer, but has two AC units. Highly recommend!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is the perfect location to visit Oxford. Walk to the Square and to campus. We barely moved the car. Don't expect fancy at this B&B, rooms are small and basic but clean. Breakfast was standard. Wished they had started serving earlier than 8:30 am though! Staff was friendly. If you're visiting Oxford, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This large house is located on a quiet residential street halfway between town square and the university. About a 10-15 minute walk to both. This old house seems to have undergone a major renovation not too long ago. We never saw the owners when we were there; only the working staff who were all nice. The room was clean and comfortable but small. The breakfast was good, not great but good. During the renovation it looks like they chose to fill in the front yard with red brick which is a shame, it's calling out for more landscaping than that. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
algonquin il
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We spent one night in Oxford and the 5 Twelve was a perfect location. We were able to walk to the Square and Ol Miss. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quite spacious.
Breakfast in the morning was an added touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The 5 Twelve is a very comfortable B&B in a historic mansion located within easy walking distance from The Square, Oxford's dining and shopping heart. Despite its proximity to the town center, the house was quiet and private. Breakfast in the morning was well-prepared and courteously served. The recently remodeled rooms have all the mod-cons (flat TV, wireless) except for the oft-encountered claw-foot tub with "shower" that can be a problem for the elderly or physically challenged. But you expect that from a B&B in a historic property.

Room Tip: There's no elevator, so the second floor is better than the third.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 5 Twelve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5 Twelve

Address: 512 Van Buren Ave., Oxford, MS 38655
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Twelve Bed and Breakfast is tucked away between the Oxford Square and the Ole Miss campus. Formerly the Oliver-Britt House, The 5 Twelve offers the quaint architecture of the old South. Once you step inside you will be greeted by a world where Southern charm meets modern comfort and elegance ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 5 Twelve Hotel Oxford
The 5 12
The Oliver Britt Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 5 Twelve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.