We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 5 Twelve

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The 5 Twelve
Save
You added The 5 Twelve to your Saves list
512 Van Buren Ave., Oxford, MS 38655   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Madison, Mississippi
1 review
“Perfect Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I rented out the entire facility for my April wedding in 2011. I could not be happier with the staff and all that they did to be so accommodating of my family. I highly recommend this facility to anyone who needs a place to stay in Oxford.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    13
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I would stay here again. Don't interpret the average rating as bad, it's just average. What I liked and disliked:
Good:
-Location, could not be any better. A five minute walk to "the square" and about a 10 minute walk to Ole Miss campus. Perfect.
-House: Very nice, well maintained. Common areas and rooms were clean, well maintained, and well styled.
People: Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Really were great.
Not so good:
-Room: We stayed in room 5. This is their cheapest room, so may not pertain to others. but the room was very small. Bed was not comfortable at all, soggy. The size of the room could have been overcome with strategic shelves, hooks on walls, etc. There was literally no place to put any clothes other than a small free-standing clothes rack. The bathroom was tiny and a pedestal sink and again no place to put any bathroom supplies. Simple things like a soap dish to keep the soap from sliding into the sink and a box of tissues would have been appreciated.
-Shower: Why can't hotels find decent shower heads. Like so many, this shower head was pathetic. The water pressure was also quite poor and it took about 5 minutes for the hot water to start.

In total, this B&B passed in all the critical areas, namely cleanliness and personnel. Location is amazing. If they replace the bed and add a few conveniences to the bedroom, this would be great. As is, it's average. That said, we would stay here again, given everything. May just opt for a larger room.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were lucky to find this place on a search of tripadvisor. We were lucky to find a room free on an Ole Miss game weekend. The house is a grand ole house with a really nice porch, a lovely breakfast room and a clean, fresh room. The bed was comfortable and the complementary bottles of water were a nice touch when we arrived. The location is out of this world. It is an easy walk to the Grove and campus and even less of a walk to the square. We parked our car and barely touched it all weekend. The staff was very nice and welcoming. We greatly enjoyed our stay and will be back on our next trip to Oxford.

Room Tip: The front rooms are larger. Our room was in the back corner and smaller but still very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The good stuff first: The 5-Twelve is a nice old house in a great location, with a friendly, welcoming owner and staff. It's clean and well-appointed. We had a very pleasant 2-night stay there. But the air conditioning was cranked up way too high and the bed had definitely seen better days. Most disappointing was the much-vaunted Southern breakfast, which was good but nothing special: the only things that were homemade were the scrambled eggs, and the only Southern thing we saw was the cheese grits. Still, we'd return for sure -- despite the criticisms, it's worlds better than a cookie-cutter hote.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

A breath of fresh air when traveling the 5 twelve offers a home away from home. A walk away from the main square and with clean beautiful sheets the 5twelve offers everything you want from a well run b & b. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We were driving up from Natchez, MS to Oxford, MS on the Natchez Trace Parkway and ended up being waylaid somewhere in Alabama. This resulted us in us coming in near 11pm. We called the 5 Twelve around 8pm to let them know we were expecting to be this late - they told us that such a late arrival would be "no problem", to "drive safe" and that they'd see us soon!

Check-in was equally pleasant and thoughtful - the night manager simply handed us our keys and let us get up to bed right away (and even gave me a complementary soft drink when I came down without change in the middle of the night!).

The room itself (Room 4 I think) was gorgeous if very, very hot - the A/C seemed to be working in the toilet but we couldn't really feel it in the bedroom itself. The stand-alone fan at the foot of the bed helped out with this, though. The toiletries were top-notch!

And breakfast was delicious - we were able to sit and eat breakfast alone while watching CNN. Check out was completed within 5 minutes and we were all set to explore Oxford!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We were looking at Ole Miss as a school. Our daughter did matriculate there in the Chinese Program and in Croft. This is a great place to stay. Beds and baths were great. Internet worked. It's near the square, and you can walk to the campus. Really nice people. Love the porch rockers. We will return.

I hate to write this review, because I don't want anyone else to find out about the 512.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The 5 Twelve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 5 Twelve

Address: 512 Van Buren Ave., Oxford, MS 38655
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5 Twelve Bed and Breakfast is tucked away between the Oxford Square and the Ole Miss campus. Formerly the Oliver-Britt House, The 5 Twelve offers the quaint architecture of the old South. Once you step inside you will be greeted by a world where Southern charm meets modern comfort and elegance ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The 5 Twelve Hotel Oxford
The 5 12
The Oliver Britt Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 5 Twelve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.