We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Great, Inn Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Ravine

Inn at Ravine
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Ravine
Save
You added Inn at Ravine to your Saves list
53 CR 321, Oxford, MS 38655   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Oxford B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Restaurant Great, Inn Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cabin at Ravine for three nights and had dinner one night at the restaurant. There were no arrangements made for check in and no one around. No one answered the phone. Joel showed up about 20 minutes later. He was very nice and took us to the room. The room is large and decorated more like a cottage than a cabin - very nice. The bathroom is small and nothing special. We ran out of toilet paper the first day. No one was around and no one answered the phone. We knocked the next day and got help with the TP and some glasses to drink from. No one ever came in to make the bed or take the garbage. That all being said, we did enjoy the stay there. It was totally quiet and felt comfortable. We had dinner on tapas night (Thursday), and loved it. Nice atmosphere, good service and wonderful food. Definitely go here for dinner. The room - we liked it, but felt neglected.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amory, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The Cabin is great! A very spacious room. Comfortable and tasteful furnishings.Courteous staff. Wonderful food. A great place! The management might want to consider a more substantial covering for the door of the cabin. A little too sheer for privacy sensitive people like myself. Otherwise, a perfect visit! Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for the Cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Deep South
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I stopped at Ravine for Sunday brunch on the way home from a weekend getaway. The wait staff was attentive, and the restaurant has terrific ambiance. Fresh flowers on the tables and in the bathrooms. Local ingredients. Fantastic coffee. I had poached eggs with sausages and grits. Be warned: both the grits and sausages were quite spicy. My husband had the beef hash with a poached egg and really enjoyed it. The butter and jam both seem to be homemade, and the butter has a wonderful sweet taste! Would definitely like to try a dinner there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I found this Inn something of a disappointment. We routinely pay a bit more for a B & B in preference to a hotel because the B & B offers opportunities for social contact with the owner and the other guests. This dimension is more or less absent from the Ravine. It is not so much a normal B & B but a cottage alongside a busy high end restaurant. Arrangements, eg, checking in, are completed with the restaurant staff who, although courteous and efficient, are preoccupied with the operation of the restaurant with no time to socialize with travelers. There were no other guests at the time of our visit and, as far as we could tell, there could not be as there seems to be only one rental unit. There was none of the normal travel information available on the Oxford area. The main room of the cottage is comfortable but the bathroom is very small, old fashioned and, therefore, impossible to keep very clean. To balance the picture I must add that we had an excellent meal in the restaurant and the young people on staff are first-rate.
LD Ottawa

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed in the cabin for Valentines weekend and while the room was fine, the restaurant and breakfast were exquisite. Joel is a very talented chef. It was romantic and quiet. We didn't plan on eating at the restaurant both nights, but had to go back on Saturday night after enjoying it so much on Friday evening. Highly recommend, but do go for the dining experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fran, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Stopped through Oxford on our way to New Orleans via Memphis. Arrived late, about 7 pm, and the owner/chef escorted us to our room even though the restaurant was open and busy. Nice, personal service. We unloaded our bags in the cabin and came back to the restaurant to unwind. We did more than relax-- the food was amazing, we opted for the chef tasting menu and were taken on a journey. He hand delivered each course and talked to us about the food. If you go when its cold, ask for the table in front of the fireplace, it was romantic and peaceful.

Went to bed amid near total silence, the place is far enough away from things that noise/light pollution is not an issue. Still only about 7 minutes drive into town for shopping, events, etc.

Breakfast was good in the morning too-- again served by the chef/owner. Nothing unique like dinner, just a good, solid, American breakfast.

There are cheaper options in town, but I would not trade this experience for a stay at a chain hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We were visiting our granddaughter, who is a student at Ole Miss, and were delighted to find such a comfortable welcoming B&B. To quote our granddaughter " you find the best and charming places to stay'. We had our younger granddaughter with us and we four had a delicious Sunday dinner there. The restaurant is superb - the girls expanded their culinary repertoire by having the duck - loved it. We will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Ravine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ravine

Address: 53 CR 321, Oxford, MS 38655
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Inn At Ravine Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Ravine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.