We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Ravine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Ravine
53 CR 321, Oxford, MS 38655   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Oxford B&B and Inns
Amory, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The Cabin is great! A very spacious room. Comfortable and tasteful furnishings.Courteous staff. Wonderful food. A great place! The management might want to consider a more substantial covering for the door of the cabin. A little too sheer for privacy sensitive people like myself. Otherwise, a perfect visit! Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for the Cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Deep South
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I stopped at Ravine for Sunday brunch on the way home from a weekend getaway. The wait staff was attentive, and the restaurant has terrific ambiance. Fresh flowers on the tables and in the bathrooms. Local ingredients. Fantastic coffee. I had poached eggs with sausages and grits. Be warned: both the grits and sausages were quite spicy. My husband had the beef hash with a poached egg and really enjoyed it. The butter and jam both seem to be homemade, and the butter has a wonderful sweet taste! Would definitely like to try a dinner there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My wife and I found this Inn something of a disappointment. We routinely pay a bit more for a B & B in preference to a hotel because the B & B offers opportunities for social contact with the owner and the other guests. This dimension is more or less absent from the Ravine. It is not so much a normal B & B but a cottage alongside a busy high end restaurant. Arrangements, eg, checking in, are completed with the restaurant staff who, although courteous and efficient, are preoccupied with the operation of the restaurant with no time to socialize with travelers. There were no other guests at the time of our visit and, as far as we could tell, there could not be as there seems to be only one rental unit. There was none of the normal travel information available on the Oxford area. The main room of the cottage is comfortable but the bathroom is very small, old fashioned and, therefore, impossible to keep very clean. To balance the picture I must add that we had an excellent meal in the restaurant and the young people on staff are first-rate.
LD Ottawa

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed in the cabin for Valentines weekend and while the room was fine, the restaurant and breakfast were exquisite. Joel is a very talented chef. It was romantic and quiet. We didn't plan on eating at the restaurant both nights, but had to go back on Saturday night after enjoying it so much on Friday evening. Highly recommend, but do go for the dining experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fran, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Stopped through Oxford on our way to New Orleans via Memphis. Arrived late, about 7 pm, and the owner/chef escorted us to our room even though the restaurant was open and busy. Nice, personal service. We unloaded our bags in the cabin and came back to the restaurant to unwind. We did more than relax-- the food was amazing, we opted for the chef tasting menu and were taken on a journey. He hand delivered each course and talked to us about the food. If you go when its cold, ask for the table in front of the fireplace, it was romantic and peaceful.

Went to bed amid near total silence, the place is far enough away from things that noise/light pollution is not an issue. Still only about 7 minutes drive into town for shopping, events, etc.

Breakfast was good in the morning too-- again served by the chef/owner. Nothing unique like dinner, just a good, solid, American breakfast.

There are cheaper options in town, but I would not trade this experience for a stay at a chain hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We were visiting our granddaughter, who is a student at Ole Miss, and were delighted to find such a comfortable welcoming B&B. To quote our granddaughter " you find the best and charming places to stay'. We had our younger granddaughter with us and we four had a delicious Sunday dinner there. The restaurant is superb - the girls expanded their culinary repertoire by having the duck - loved it. We will visit again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

When my daughter got engaged, we told her if she didn't marry at home she would have to include rooms for her sisters, her father, and me in her budget! LIttle did we know that when she told us she had planned her reception at the bed and breakfast called the Ravine in Oxford we really had no idea what was in store for us! First of all, I must say that as a mother of the bride planning a wedding seven hours away, Joel was fantastic to work with! He was easy to contact and always willing to work with us on details! Next, the bed and breakfast! Joel and his wife have two nice, comfortable rooms inside as well as the cabin near the restaurant! My husband and I stayed in the cabin which was used as the meeting place for all the family who were there for the wedding ceremony and reception. THe spaciousness of this cabin allowed room for everyone to relax and prepare for the wedding! The comfort of the bed allowed my husband and I some much needed rest before the big day! Joel and his wife went out of their way to provide us with whatever we needed -- including extra tables and chairs for the cabin to accommodate those who continually stopped by to visit in the days before the wedding. Included in all the rooms was a fantastic breakfast prepared by Joel, who is an amazing chef! The presentation was ideal but the taste was amazing!
The Wedding Reception itself could rival any in a big city! Guests who came from as far as California, Chicago, Louisiana, and Florida couldn't stop complimenting the elegance of the food, service, and atmosphere! My two other daughters claimed we definately set the bar high for receptions because of the ambiance at the wedding reception at the Ravine! Joel and the bride and groom decided before hand what food was to be served by wait staff throughout the reception and what food was to be set out
through the evening! Not only was the h'ordeurves delicious, Joel added some extra tasty morsels just because he wanted to try something new! This was at no additional cost to us but was a definate additional plus to our guests! As a stressed mother of the bride (the electricity had went off during the wedding ceremony) Joel was at the door of the Ravine to greet me with my favorite drink when we arrived after the wedding! He also thought ahead and saved a plate for the bride and groom including a little of each of the items they had on their food lists! This was a welcome surprise because they spent their time visiting with their guests instead of eating! Joel allowed us to decorate the evening before when his guests had left and his friendly staff were there at the end of the reception to clean up - not allowing us to help but shooing us out to the porch to relax while they did all the work! He even brought us yummy appetizers at the end of the evening while we sat and relaxed with various family members! We couldn't believe our luck in finding this gem in Oxford, MS! Joel, I have to apologize for taking so long to write a review - life got in the way! I would recommend the Ravine for a gourmet meal, a weekend get-a-way, or the Wedding Reception of a lifetime!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Ravine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ravine

Also Known As:
Inn At Ravine Hotel Oxford
Inn At Ravine Hotel
Address: 53 CR 321, Oxford, MS 38655
Location: United States > Mississippi > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Ravine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Inn at Ravine to your Saves list