We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing exceptional here -” 3 of 5 stars
Review of McAlister's Deli

McAlister's Deli
1515 University Ave, Oxford, MS 38655-4033
662-234-1363
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 140 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Sandwiches, Soups
Restaurant details
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nothing exceptional here -”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The sandwiches were $6.99, with one side. Unfortunately we both chose cole slaw, and neither of us liked it. Something different about the way they make it, I guess. My tuna on a croissant with lettuce and tomato was fine; my husband didn't enjoy the french dip that he ordered. I'm sure we could have found more interesting food elsewhere in the area, but the front desk clerk said the place was great, so we gave it a try. Nothing to brag about.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quick food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was the very first one they ever opened I think. Friendly and quick service and great iced tea.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“same ol same ol”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

upscale fast food. sandwiches and salads. large portions. their ice tea is supposedly the best but all lipton ice tea is about the same to me.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mississippi
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great sandwich shop!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stopped in for some supper the other day and food was brought out promptly, good temperature, waitress supplied extra condiments and the tea was great as usual! Can't go wrong with the sweet tea. Lots of people were ordering to go. This is not the most attractive McAlister's, but you are really there for the food anyway. The history of the location adds to the ambiance.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McAlister's Deli also viewed

 

Been to McAlister's Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McAlister's Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.