We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different for the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vestige

Vestige
715 Washington Avenue, Ocean Springs, MS 39564
+1 228-818-9699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 117 Restaurants in Ocean Springs
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Vestige ( ˈvestij ) restaurant is a locally-owned Modern American restaurant in beautiful and historic downtown Ocean Springs, MS. Come enjoy a freshly prepared market-driven menu, served in an upscale yet relaxed atmosphere. Dinner served Tuesday through Saturday 5:30 P.M - 9:30 P.M. Like us on Facebook/VestigeRestaurant to receive news and offers!
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Something different for the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

In a city with a particular dining scene, Vestige is offering something a bit new.

Seasonal cooking, nice presentation, and a staff that clearly cares about what they are doing are the attractions.
A must visit if you find yourself in the area and are in the mood for something outside the usual seafood houses.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oceaan springs, ms
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“MIA - Flavor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Generally decent meal for a Friday evening, although absent strong flavor. Mom's pork, wife's trigger fish and my lobster noodles while generally well prepared, left no lasting impression. No complaints with wine and service was exemplary.

Perhaps just an off night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brandon, ms
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We've dined here twice, and both times have been memorable. The menu is seasonal with about five small plates and four large plates. There are also several desserts. The Vestige prepares fish in the most divine way, normally panko crusted, and it melts in your mouth. The scallops are heaven-sent, and the blue crab salad (small plate) has more blue crab than most entrees. The chef is a young fellow who obviously revels in the joy of cooking! He has stopped by our table every time to chat, and one day we ran into him at the Saturday market buying the locally made Brie cheese which we'd had in our salads the night before. I would agree with one of the reviews wherein a diner states that service could be improved upon, but the wait staff is very nice but perhaps in need of a bit more training. All in all, this is a superior restaurant, and Ocean Springs is a most charming town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Well prepared cuisine in a most pleasant space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Our party of four began the evening with a range of tasty appetizers that included the blue crab salad, grits and grillades, and a soup special. The panko crusted fish entrée was well prepared as were desserts that included a popcorn pot de crème and a chocolate pie in a jar with layers of ganache, mousse, and crème. The homemade egg nog was delicious and could remain on the menu year round as a milk punch drink. The service could use a bit of refinement but our overall experience was most pleasant. The dining space is very comfortable and parking is available at the rear of the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceaan springs, ms
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Festival follow-up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

During big fall festival, wife, good friend and me dined on some favorites along with couple new menu items. Pumpkin soup was hearty, crab fresh and I especially enjoyed red cabbage with east coast salmon. Really decent wine selection available. Be advised to go easy on southern desert favorites like chess pie in a jar which is a bit rich...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vestige also viewed

 

Been to Vestige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vestige, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.