We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pleasant's Bar-B-Q

Pleasant's Bar-B-Q
1415 Government St., Ocean Springs, MS
228-875-3384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 122 Restaurants in Ocean Springs
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I gave this place an excellent rating primarily based on the service. The food is great, too, but the service really sets Pleasant's apart. I truly enjoyed the conversation with the owner, and all of the servers were timely and polite. The location is nice in downtown Ocean Springs, in a small building. Nothing special about the decor. The specialty is in the food and service. The ribs, beef brisket sandwich, cole slaw, baked beans, and potato salad are yummy. The prices are so reasonable. Only $6.95 for a sandwich combo, which includes a beef, pulled pork, or sausage sandwich with your choice of two sides. Also, there are coupons at the Ocean Springs Visitor's Center. Definitely a nice, low-cost option for dinner in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Flawless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Family of 5 all loved and finished everything on our plates. Excellent service and very professional and polite, beyond that of nearly all restaurants. The building is not a 5 star place visually but is definitely comfortable with everything being beyond all expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent prices, perfect atmosphere for great down-home BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were looking for a BBQ restaurant that was more than just a tourist attraction. We found it at Pleasant's BBQ in Ocean Springs. We came by the first night ofour stay to find they had just closed (They close at 7:30pm and are not open on Sun/Mon so keep that in mind). We decided we had to come back and try it because it looked like just the kind of place we like...nothing fancy, just good food. The owner greeted us at the door as if he'd known us for years and we chatted until the food came and he left us to enjoy the delicious bbq. I had the sausage sandwich which was juicy and perfectly cooked. My husband had the Pork sandwich which was also just perfect with a little coleslaw on top. We had tried another local bbq shop the previous night but Pleasant's was much better. The prices were amazing. $6.95 for a large sandwich plus 2 sides. It just can't be beat. We will certainly be back on our next visit to the Biloxi area.

Highly Recommended!! Plus, buy some extra bottles of the sauce to take with you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
“Good home cooked food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our catfish and all the fixings. I wished I lived closer. This is a must for anyone. Thanks Brad

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small, LOW cost and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This restaurant is wonderful for lunch! Ribs and sides were great and the cost was almost embarrassingly low. The owner and staff were great hosts. Go early so you can get the Que!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pleasant's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Ocean Springs, MS
Ocean Springs, MS
 

Been to Pleasant's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pleasant's Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.