We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place--great people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Front Beach Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Front Beach Cottages
Save Saved
You added Front Beach Cottages to your Saves list
207 Dewey Ave., Ocean Springs, MS 39564   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
1 review
“Great place--great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the Bellande Cottage, and we loved it. It was very clean and well-appointed. The living room/dining room area was spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen area was also great--loved the gas stove and full sized refrigerator. The main bedroom (with an excellent bed) was huge with a full closet, small sitting area, and its own TV! We were only 2 people, but I can see how a family would be very comfortable. (The second bedroom is smaller and right off the kitchen.) The deck was private and very convenient. The location couldn't be better--close to the beach and downtown and a 500 year old live oak tree and . . . .But we've stayed many places where the accommodations were good to great (these were definitely great), and what turns out to be almost as important is that the people running the place are accessible without being pushy--Cathy and Jason were perfect. We felt very, very well-taken care of without any hovering at all. Can't wait to go back. (I could also rave about Ocean Springs, but that is a different post!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

NOLA cottage has a brand-new remodel with full-size fridge, dishwasher, small stove top and microwave. Very comfortable cottage with lots of cutsy decorations, sitting area, and back patio. Patio was nice when we had friends drop by, didn't have to sit on the bed. We didn't use them, but bikes, kayaks, and bar-b-que grill were available. Short walk to beach, which connects to a really nice bike/walkway over the bay, rumor has it that it continues for the entire 26 mile man-made beach. Also walking distance from downtown Ocean Springs with coffee shops, restaurants, and shopping. Friendly folks! Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, Owner at Front Beach Cottages, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us at Front Beach Cottages! We enjoyed having you here for the Peter Anderson Festival and hope you come visit us again soon. We worked very hard on the NOLA renovation and we are so pleased to hear that it was comfortable for y'all. Do take care and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable and thoughtfully appointed
Easy walk to the beach and short bike ride to the Washington st shops.
Best of all was the warm hospitality of Jason and Cathy around a Friday nite bonfire with other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, Owner at Front Beach Cottages, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for visiting us at Front Beach Cottages. It was a pleasure having y'all here and spending some time around the bonfire chatting about life in Kentucky. Please come visit us again on your next trip to the Gulf Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

1st time to visit the gulf, perfect location as 'home' to see the area's laid-back spots. Quaint town, friendly atmosphere, inviting hosts. The Key West Cabana was perfect for our needs...well thought out layout and designed beautifully. But we spent most of our time on the side deck...when not at the beach nearby! Thanks Cathy & Jason (Monte, too!)

Room Tip: The Cabana is small; for couples, perfect. There are 2 other properties which the owners have/are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy M, Owner at Front Beach Cottages, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the review! It was great having you here at FBC and thanks to your husband for being so handy and fixing the fountain! It was wonderful to see y'all enjoying the deck and everything Ocean Springs has to offer. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My 9-year old daughter and I spent our first mother-daughter vacation here this summer. One of the best weeks we've ever had! The Key West Cottage is small but functional and comfortable and just perfect for two. The outdoor shower is just plain awesome and such a clever use of space! Loved the decor too--Key West all the way. The innkeepers, Cathy and Jason, are so very nice, thoughtful and helpful. Not only did they leave me a really good bottle of wine but also provided our dog with a souvenir water dish and some tasty treats. The cottage is only two short blocks from the beach and they have a nice assortment of beach stuff you can borrow--umbrellas, chairs, coolers, sand toys. Being able to borrow these items really helped with our packing and allowed us to really enjoy the beach! I can't thank Cathy enough for including my daughter in a movie outing with her girls our last night there. Gave me some much appreciated "Me" time and us a break from each other! I thoroughly recommend taking a mother-daughter vacation and this is the perfect place to do it. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

I am not one to write a lot of reviews, but our family recently stayed in the Bellande Cottage and had the most relaxing weekend. We most enjoyed how short of a walk it was to the beach and all the historical shops in Ocean Springs. This was our first visit here and look forward to returning next year. Ohh, I almost forgot the best part!! The local markets offer fresh seafood that we could prepare in our cottage and enjoy on the deck! This saved our family money compared to eating out every night! Thank you Cathy & Jason for a wonderful weekend and tell your girls our daughter Molly and son Patrick said hi! :-)

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Key West Cottage and found it to be the quaintest place to stay. The innkeepers, Cathy & Jason and their beautiful girls, Cassidy & Camille make this inn have a genuine family atmosphere. The cottage was spotless and all of the fixtures and treasures in it made you feel like you were one street off Duval, not to mention the adorable outside shower!

These innkeepers make you feel so welcome, down to their little dog Monte stopping bye when we were enjoying a glass of wine at sunset on the beautiful outdoor deck.

If you are looking for a charming quaint inn located near the city center and beach in Ocean Springs, MS then look no farther... this inn is definitely a hidden treasure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Front Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Front Beach Cottages

Address: 207 Dewey Ave., Ocean Springs, MS 39564
Location: United States > Mississippi > Ocean Springs
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Front Beach Cottages is a coastal inn offering 3 cozy, self-contained cottages nestled beneath the oaks in downtown Ocean Springs, just a block and a half from Front Beach and 3 blocks from downtown. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Front Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.