We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's that terrible smell?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr.

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr.
701 Bonita Lakes Dr., Meridian, MS 39301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Meridian
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“What's that terrible smell?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Making telephone reservations was a hassle. The reservationist was curt and unprofessional. I was hoping for the best at the hotel. Wrong - upon check-in, there was an unpleasant odor in the lobby. The hallway was also smelly. The room was OK, but I couldn't get the TV to work. However, because of the bad "vibe" here, I would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya D, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr., responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Mr, Texmark:

I apologize if we fell to meet your expectations while staying here at the Comfort Inn. We strive to make sure our guest feel comfortable as possible while staying at our facility. I apologize if we didn't meet those expectations. I'll definitely take your concerns and use them as a training tool for my staff and I! Please give us another chance to prove that we stand by our Choice Hotel Brand. If you're ever traveling to the Meridian area, please contact me directly for your next reservation.

Sincerely,

Toya Dockery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
9
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have stayed at various hotels in and around Meridian on our way to visit family in Shreveport and San Antonio for many years. I don't know what it is about Meridian hotels, they all seem a little on the worn side even when relatively new and the staff's are rather lackluster in terms of service. The single exception to this, in our experience at least, is the Hilton Garden Inn but it can be a little pricy.

On June 17 we stayed at the Comfort Inn in Meridian, it had decent reviews and we needed two rooms with two queen beds in each as we were a party of 6 travelling with 3 small kids. Our stay at this particular hotel was OK but nothing great considering the price paid. We often stay at a Choice Hotel because we participate in their rewards program, ditto for Hilton hotels and our stay usually depends on price and bedding configuration being offered at the time. What disappointed me somewhat with our recent stay in the Meridian Comfort Inn was the lack of coffee one usually finds available 24/7 in the lobby at most Choice Hotels these days -- in fact most hotels in this price range now provide round the clock coffee, tea, etc. One can always make coffee in the room I suppose, but its somewhat of a hassle, and I hate those packages of dried creamer, etc. My 2nd disappointment was the next morning when I went down to get breakfast and found the coffee machine complete dry and not a staff member in sight. I was not alone as there were other guests looking for coffee as well -- I poked my head into the kitchen area -- no staff but there was a new pot of coffee just sitting there. Why hadn't they brought it out for the guests before disappearing?

Would I stay here again, sure, probably, it wasn't a deal breaker as the accommodations suited us OK although nothing special. Its fairly typical of hotels and service in and around Meridian. As I said I don't know what it is about Meridian but the staff at most hotels we have stayed just don't seem very service oriented, everything is done in slow motion and hardly any seem to really enjoy their work. Maybe its a Mississippi thing, not sure, because usually when travelling in the south one is struck with the friendliness and helpfulness of the people in the hospitality industry -- not the case in Meridian, at least in my experience. Maybe its me!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya D, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr., responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Mr. Don,

I apologize that my staff and I feel below your expectations during your stay. Extra measures have been taken to make sure this never happens again at the Comfort Inn, in Meridian, MS! We appreciate your feedback and will use this as a training tool to correct this issue! If you're every in the Meridian area again, please contact me personally for your next reservation!

Toya Dockery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I picked the Comfort Inn/Bonita Lakes for two reasons: 1) slightly better price compared to similar-quality hotels in the area and 2) membership in the Choice Hotels customer loyalty system. Granted, the second reason is minor, but it helps.

As for this Comfort Inn, it is on par with others. Our room was well-appointed and clean. Check-in was as early as 2pm, and check-out was as late as noon, which was nice for a weekend stay. I'm not sure if those hours hold true for weekdays. The hotel's breakfast was standard fare of toast, bagels, sweet rolls, eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, etc. The breakfast area is a bit small, especially if there are a number of guests eating.

The location is good, nearby to a number of dining opportunities, and the local mall and retail area of Meridian. We didn't notice any road/traffic noise issues from our room.

Check-in and check-out were a breeze. I'd grown accustomed to express check-out at other hotels, and somewhat expected to find a receipt under the door when we woke up, but did not. Certainly this doesn't affect the quality of the stay, and it doesn't offend me at all. Just something I noted as different than most other hotel stays of late.

If/when I'm in Meridian again, I'll probably choose this Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We always stay there on our way to Orange Beach, AL. Great staff, very clean room, and the great hot breakfast. Anything we have needed, the staff has been very helpful. The breakfast lady always takes great care of us. The staff is very pleasant. We didn't have reservations, but they were able to privde us with a first floor room

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya D, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr., responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear CHMRSWY,

Thank you for your positive comment concerning our hotel and staff. We strive to make a positive impact on our guest. I'm pleased to know that we meet your expectations while here at the Comfort Inn. Please consider Comfort Inn again in your future travels to Meridian, MS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We called ahead, early to get a lower floor room.
When arriving they put us on the top floor.
The deorderizer smell on the entire third floor was so strong it gave us headaches,
One asks ,What stench are they trying to cover!
We were given a suite but it was very dated no closet just a wardrobe no central air, The wall airconditioner was on you if you slept on the left side you freeze or burn up!
They had a good hot shower & bed was comfy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya D, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr., responded to this review, March 22, 2013
I apologize if we didn't meet your expectations while staying with us. We try to meet all guest request, but unfortunately at times are not because of previous guest that is in the hotel. Please allow us to make things better on your next stay. Call the hotel directly and ask to speak with me directly.

Sincerely,

Toya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Sadly, many Comfort Inns haven't aged well and I've started to avoid them. But the Comfort Inn in Meridian was a pleasant surprise. My Room looked like they had been redecorated and refurnished within the past two years. Everything was clean and fresh, as was the lobby. Staff were pleasant and friendly.

There was ample parking and convenient access to restauarants, big box stores, and the interstate.

Breakfast was adequate at best.

Overall, this is a good value if you're stopping in Meridian.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya D, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr., responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback concerning your hotel stay. My staff and I try to go over and beyond to make sure our guest are comfortable. If your ever in Meridian area, please contact us directly to make your next hotel reservation.

Sincerely,

Toya Dockery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The recent remodel is obvious. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and well appointed. This is a nice quiet place to stay when heading across the south on I-20. We arrived late on a last minute reservation and were treated wonderfully by the staff. I always base reviews on similar hotels in similar price ranges. This one is above average for an interstate stopover hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toya D, General Manager at Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr., responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate all positive feedback and strive to make our guest feel at home. If your ever in the Meridian area, please call us directly to make your next hotel reservation.,

Toya Dockery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr.

Address: 701 Bonita Lakes Dr., Meridian, MS 39301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Meridian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Meridian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Meridian
Meridian Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn - Meridian / Bonita Lakes Dr., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.