We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Non-smokers beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 Hamilton Ave., Meridian, MS 39301 (Formerly Sleep Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Meridian
Terrell, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Non-smokers beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We saved $10 or $15 over other Choice locations in the area but it wasn't a wise "choice". Reserved a non-smoking room. Apparently the room next to ours was a smoking room because the connecting door didn't hold back the smell. The hair dryer didn't work. Breakfast was average at best. No feeling of professionalism from late night staff and the "visitors" hanging out with her. If we return to the area in the future this one is out of the question.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    9
    7
    16
See reviews for
15
6
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hi y'all!

I checked in here late at night on an unexpected business trip. This is not the greatest neighborhood, but there are probably 10 hotels within eye distance.

Great layout, with an open balcony.

Nice quite stay.

Room Tip: Check-in while it is still daylight...some sketchy cliental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Mildew smell in the back hallway, breakfast is actually closed at about 8 a.m., the Indian owners have signs all over the property regarding no firearms, and my wife fell in the shower because of no traction mat. Realizing the Choice Hotels should not be my choice!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stop off on our way to motorcycle rally, we reserved our rooms months in advance. Rooms were ready, staff friendly. Had no problem getting extra towel and washcloth.
Definitely needs a deep cleaning and touch up. Our room was ok. There was s terrible smell in the hallway. We were on first floor, there is no elevator. We were able to park bike outside our room window to keep an eye on it.
Didn't use pool, but there people using.
Room has medium refrigerator , microwave, iron and board.
Disappointed overall. Felt Sleep inn should offer better quality place to stay.
Will probably look for another place to stay if this way again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have stayed at many choice properties as a gold member. This is by far the dirtiest, most poorly maintained unit I have ever stayed in. The first room we were given had black crap in the shower, the door to the bath did not work, the toilet was loose (not firmly seated), the edging on the floor was missing and the entire room dirty. We changed rooms courtesy of the desk person. The new room looked better. However that was the wrong first impression. The light fixture in the shower was loose, hanging down, an electrical hazard. The room was dirty with no attention to the cove-floor or corner areas. It appeared that the housekeeper just ran the vac down the main foot pathway and poured furniture on the surfaces. She did not even spread it around. The towl rack above the toilet fell to the floor when my wife reached for a towel following her shower. The crowning blow was a huge cockroach in the bathroom. Fortunately, we checked out the next morning. The common areas showed the same lack of good housekeeping with dirt along the walls and in the corners. The best I can say was that the breakfast was uneventful and the TV's had been upgraded to LCD wall mounted units although the holes in the unit top were still there where the old TV was secured. Would you believe that this motel was rated by AAA?
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I have contacted Choice Properties and AAA about this issue.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel until management is changed to promote the generally good qualities of choice hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is located in a cluster of hotel of this type and size. Plenty of gas and food nearby, off the interstate (on Frontage Road) so no traffic noise at night. Meridian shuts down at night it seems so that helps quite a bit.

Convenient to most if not all of Meridian. Checked in in the afternoon, the front desk clerk was pleasant, hotel was quiet. The room showed some wear, but was clean. I had the Queen size bed (single), no-smoking room. Remnded me of a nice college dorm room, small but functional. This hotel has 2 floors, but NO ELEVATORS (at least none I saw)! Disabled, or stairs challenged be aware.

Closet type bathroom (holding the toilet and shower) both were clean. As I was alone towels were not an issue, they were the standard, generic, prison type towels (function over comfort). Not a bad value for the single or duo traveler, but ONLY if you are getting the awards program benefits. Without the awards program you could probably get a better value at a cheaper spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

When i checked into this hotel my room wasnt ready yet and It was already past check in time. When we finally got to go to our room we walked in the back entrace only to find an employere dumping bleach water onto the concrete because someone had urinated apparently regularly by the stinch. Then my room was digusting. There was blood on my lamp shade on the wall and the smoke detector was completely missing from room. There was a giant wet spot on the floor by the door. The room smelled of stale beer and cigarettes. The walls were filthy. The Bathroom had a waterline by the tiolet in the wall paper. There was mold in the light fixture in the bathroom. I had to use my hand sanitizer so that i could clean the botton of the stand up shower just so we could showere with our socks on. This place is disgusting. My recommendation is to stay at the Ramada next door.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1301 Hamilton Ave., Meridian, MS 39301 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Meridian
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Meridian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Meridian
Meridian Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.