We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not bother” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn
1301 Hamilton Ave., Meridian, MS 39301 (Formerly Sleep Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Meridian
Palmetto, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Do not bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you are in a hurry or have to stop over this hotel is conveniently located. It is, however, in need of a lot of work. The grounds are not kept up well, the condition of the room needs improvement. We had issues with the AC/Heater at about two am when it began to make a lot of noise. Even after shutting it off it made noise. It was two late to ask for service so we rode with it until checkout. The bathroom also needs work with the grout and fixtures.

Room Tip: I stay in a lot of Choice hotels so if you are in meridian stay at the Comfort Inn and Suites and sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    9
    6
    14
See reviews for
13
6
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

When I checked in the rating began at once. I had reserved a handicap room and was told that I could not have one. Even though I had a non-smoking room, I could smell smoke in the hall and in my room. During breakfast, the manager brought his family in and feed them breakfast, so the kids were all over the place. AC did not work correctly and the bed was hard as a rock.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA---
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Fairly tedious access to motel from Interstate. Parked bike outside window halfway down nearly deserted building. A rather remote area for this motel located behind two other nicer motels. No where to easily have supper without driving to next exit 'cept Waffle House. Only three vehicles including mine overnight (?) Building and room were very nice that night but had to step over 2" roach in lobby. Had good sleep but just didn't want to eat after watching morning shift cleaning in the break room. Had a very bad night next evening after check out.

Room Tip: Go to next Eastbound exit to get many motel and eating choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Where to begin, the staff was rude. Their response to requests for an extra pillow or more towels was that they don't do that. The bed was supposed to be a queen but was only a double. Hubby is a safety engineer and he said the electrical plugs were over-loaded, unsafe and likely violated codes. The air conditioner was LOUD and inefficient, the TV speakers are on the back of the TV which was mounted on the wall and must be turned up loud to be heard. The bathroom tile grout was dark and until I noticed that the grout was not gray at the sides I thought it simply was grouted with gray grout. The tub had a broken ledge where someone had broken off the handicapped seat ledge, and since we were not told about this and were too tired that night to demand another room-- we were traveling with a toddler and an infant-- we let it pass so now I am wondering if they will try to charge us for that damage-- will be back on here complaining if they do. The breakfast in the morning was stingily handed out ONLY to those who were eating in the lobby-- no taking something back to the room for the wife who is breastfeeding the baby! No getting breakfast all at once either. Lets see, there was a spider in our room which made me wonder what else might be in there. However, we do not appear to have been bitten by anything in the night. The key card took multiple tries to work.

On the up side, the incredible noise from the air conditioner drowned out any possible noise from outside the room and the coffee in the lobby the next morning was fine with cream and sweetener.

If we had not been so exhausted we would have checked the room before accepting it and unloading all the baby stuff-- we will never stay here again, and think twice before trusting this chain again!

I took photos but will need help to upload them.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead, Mississippi
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here while evacuating for Hurricane Isaac and it was not exactly our first choice. It appears a mainly family run hotel though supposedly still part of the chain. The check-in was fine and then when we got all our luggage in, we asked where the elevator was and were told there isn't one! Good grief! How do they advertise 'accessible' rooms but don't have an elevator?! The stairway was rather beaten up as is the hotel in general, much in need of renovation and deep cleaning as other reviewers have mentioned. Our room was an 'accessible' one, though not by choice; so it was probably a tad larger than the regular type. The toilet/shower combo certainly could do with a deep scrub but was acceptable and the sliding door to it was noisy and annoying; the bed was okay and sheets were nice. The hotel is located right next to a very busy road and you hear big rigs passing 24hrs/day, the windows are old and do nothing to lessen outside noise. Breakfast was okay. We booked for 2 nights but it turned out that we had to stay another night so we got a room at a hotel in a way better location by the mall. This is not a place I would recommend until they renovate it plus replace the windows!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlo, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is older and not located in the greatest area. It is pretty inexpensive but not really worth it. With a business discount you will only pay maybe 10 or 20 dollars per night at one of the nice hotels like the drury or Hilton in meridian.

The room was clean except for the bathroom which had definitely not been cleaned (at least not by anyone with their glasses on) There was hair all over and I'll spare you the other details. The room was TINY. Probably the smallest room Ive ever stayed in. If u have kids this would not be a fun experience.

Desk staff friendly, maids not so much.

Also the maids went up the hallway at 10 am (checkout is not till 11) knocking on everyone's doors to "see if they were still here" ...Riiiiiiiiight.... What they were actually doing was trying to wake anyone up who might be asleep so they can get the rooms cleaned faster and go home. I thought this was ridiculous and ive never stayed anywhere that maids did this. Especially an hour or more before checkout.

The walls are also thin so I was able to hear the maids unhappy rant about a guest checking out late, complete with profanity. Something like this: "oh he say he checkin out at 12, he say he goin swimming well he had all day yesterday to swim, he shoulda done his swimmin yesterday, SH**!"

Just avoid this exit all together and get a hotel off exit 154.

All said and done, I'd rather sit on a pineapple than stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Checked in for a weekend soccer tournament in the local area. Inn is very dirty, staff very unresponsive to issues beyond cleanliness and their posted satisfaction guarantee is a joke. Inn did not have adequate number of towels to restock rooms on a sold out weekend even with out the pool being open. Would have checked out immediately had there been rooms available in the city. This hotel should be closed immediately.

Room Tip: There is no good room at this establishment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1301 Hamilton Ave., Meridian, MS 39301 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Meridian
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Meridian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Meridian
Meridian Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.