We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood and sandwiches.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hungry Heifer

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hungry Heifer
1310 14th St, Meridian, MS 39301-4317
601-483-2509
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 118 Restaurants in Meridian
Restaurant details
Meridian, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good seafood and sandwiches.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The raw oysters are really fresh and good. A bit crowded. Good table service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laurel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cowboy Ribeye- will go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I only eat beef on rare occasions and this was wonderful. It is a huge steak and was very lean, yet tasty. I really like the sauce that comes on the side. Best steak I have has since the days of the old Conestoga in Hattiesburg.

My friends had various other food, the special was a redfish with shrimp and sauce and they raved about it being such fresh fish and the shrimp and sauce were yummmmy.

The owner was there, very welcoming and friendly, as was our waitress. Next time we will go early and have cocktails, appetizers and maybe dinner on the patio. Very cool and shaded.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and uncomfortable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The quality of the food doesn't warrant the price. The booths are quite uncomfortable. Service is just okay.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Overrated!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The only time I go to Hungry Heifer is when friends or co-workers want to meet there after work for happy hour. They have a good 2 for 1 Happy Hour special but the food is just okay and very overpriced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
1 review
“Overrated and overpriced.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

EVERYTHING on the menu is expensive...cup of gumbo 10$ ...dozen oysters in season 22$ Service was okay but overall not worth 75$ for two people.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Heifer also viewed

 

Been to Hungry Heifer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hungry Heifer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.