We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't get a chance to go in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Dentzel Carousel

The Dentzel Carousel
39th Avenue, Highland Park, Meridian, MS 39302
601 485 1904
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Meridian
Attraction details
Meridian, Mississippi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“We didn't get a chance to go in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We tryed to get there a few times and always for some reasons it was closed. We live in Meridian and I wonder what if some tourists specially come to see and enjoy it but it is closed. It was a pity not to see it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    8
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pretty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I love the different animals on this very old carousel. Many children, as well as my own children, enjoy having their birthday parties here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Spinning into the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not that easy to find (but not that hard either), the carousel, which is in a down-at-the-heels area, is striking. Built in 1896, the animals (giraffe, tigers, horses etc ) were hand carved from poplar and basswood. Oil paintings line the top and a ride is only 50 cents! Hold on. The animals don't goup and down but the carousel spends around at a gloriously fast clip. Be sure to read a about its history. (It's free - except for the 50 cents if you want to ride.)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The city of Meridian has done a great job restoring this carousel. I can remember my mom taking me to ride when I was a little girl(over 50) I'm so proud my grandchildren will have a chance to experience the ride on a REAL CAROUSEL. Not many left around this one is absolutely breath takingly beautiful.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“CREATIVE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Carousel is BEATUIFUL...Wow, this man was creative. Ride are only 50cents per ride. This was our second visit. Adults love, Kids love it! Must take your kids! The park is nice as well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dentzel Carousel also viewed

 

Been to The Dentzel Carousel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dentzel Carousel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.