We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for the money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Extend a Suites Meridian MS

Save Saved
You added Extend a Suites Meridian MS to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extend a Suites Meridian MS
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1401 Roebuck Dr, Meridian, MS 39301 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Meridian
Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good stay for the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Good hotel for price. Clean and great breakfast. Friendly staff and convient to shopping and Interstate. Walls are a little thin and some rooms are not close to where you have to park, if your on second floor.

Room Tip: If you need a frig. and Microwave you will have to take second floor. All rooms are away from traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
10
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed in January 2012. It is very easy to get to from the interstate. The room we were assigned was clean, the furniture was clean nd stable. More importantly the bed linen was clean and we slept comfortable. This is a big deal for me. The bathroom was clean however it was freezing cold. I read other reviews and our experience was more on the positive side. We did use one of those coupon books to get an even better deal. As others have commented the breakfast was typical continental spread and the selection would suit most anyone. The hotel does have rooms to the outside. We did not see what others who reviewed claim. The only thing we saw were four deer near the back having a diner on an adjacent lawn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

The room rate for a Friday evening in November was $79. The room had 2 full size beds, 2 broken chairs and a table which was crammed in the corner. The room was outdated, much light came in the room at night (exterior entry) and just felt dingy. We were not impressed with the room but one good thing about the stay was the complimentary breakfast. In the hotel lobby the have a staff member cooking made to order omeletes,they also offer yogurt, grits, cereal, juices, coffee, tea, biscuits & gravy, cornbeef hash, homemade waffles and pastries.

Not recommending this hotel due to the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We were traveling across Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama. Some points on our trip we had a planned layover and reservations, others we did not. All the way from B&B to top casino suites. For the drive through Mississippi we did not have a planned stop over or reservations, but had picked up a magazine at the border welcome center that had coupons for lodging. Since we had spent a good deal of our vacation budget at casinos and on the bed & breakfast, we decided to spend this one night at just a plain economy type motel. It was getting time to pull over and spend the night, so 30 minutes before we reached Meridian, I flipped through the magazine and noticed that we could stay for $39.99 by using the coupon at the Quality Inn, and have access to Wi, plus a free HOT breakfast. We had thought about using the Best Western which offered similar....and wish we had even though I have no idea what the Meridian one is like. I don't think I've ever stayed at a Best Western that wasn't clean and comfortable though.

So, 30 minutes out...I called and asked about availability. The person on the phone had availability for the non-smoking room we requested, and just asked how long it would be before we arrived. She didn't even ask for a card to reserve since we were so close.

As we drove up, it looked modern and nice enough, and I was relieved when I saw a very clean and comfortable lobby. I could see into some of the open doors where conference rooms were in use, and that was reassuring to me that a business would book there. The person with whom I had spoken on the phone was on break when we were checking in, but another very nice lady helped us. Another business traveler was checking in as we were, and as we left he told us that this place has the best breakfast and he always stayed here on his route because of it. Again...I'm feeling so much better about all this....and for only $39.99 with that coupon. Especially since I'd asked how much the room rate was without the coupon and was told $80. And that's what the man had said he paid.

The room we were given was at the VERY BACK of the lot. As we pulled out of the portico and began to wind our way back to the very back, we passed a deserted service station right next to the grounds. Then as we were still winding our way past the different buildings that housed room units, I saw a man who looked like he was hiding in the forest of trees that surrounds the lot along the side and the back of the property. What had looked nice suddenly became a little nerve wracking. Who goes into the treeline to hide? For what purpose? It was not well lighted in this area, and I no longer wanted a hot free breakfast. But too late...and my husband kept reassuring me.

As we came around the corner, there were a group of men around a grill cooking out. Okay...so they provide this for the crews of construction workers that they house. That's good. I have nothing against construction workers....my family has a lot of them. We are just normal hard working people. And I feel for those who must be on the road and away from family in order to make a living. Maybe the Quality Inn helps make them a little less homesick with amenities like that. We notice several sitting on curbs away from the group, in order to use their cell phones. I'm thinking...calling home to stay in touch with the family...and it makes me feel warm at that thought. My heart goes out to them.

We finally reach the very back where our unit is located. Again...construction vehicles and car hauling truckers parked everywhere. We barely have room to squeeze our mid size Chevy HHR into a parking spot. And we notice that the workers are all hanging out outside their units and around their cars and it's very noisy. We get stared at...but I guess we were staring as well. I can handle that.

But when we open the door and see the room....I don't even have to say the first word. I know it's as bad as I think it is when my husband jumps in with "It's only for one night."

Having just come from a wonderful bed and breakfast experience in Louisiana.....any hotel room would have been a let down. Even a nice suite. Can't describe it as a little let down.....it was the bottom PITS!

Walls that haven't been painted in forever with stains, cracks....grim. Carpets haven't been replaced even before that. This room looked like it had been partied in on many occasions. It was nothing the cleaning crew could have done to make it cleaner. The whole room needed to be renovated. The bed was not comfortable, and I did not sleep well worrying about the sanitary issue of the mattress.

It was VERY noisy from all the folks tarrying outside our room. Not so much their voices, but they did enjoy gunning engines, screeching brakes, and pulling in and out of the parking lot all night. The drapes don't help much in keeping those car head lights from coming in.

I would have demanded my money back had I paid $80...and left. I wanted to demand my $40 back and leave....it was that bad, but I tried to "cowgirl up and be a good sport" because hubby had made sure all of the other places we had stayed and planned to stay were nice.

The breakfast was okay. They have a lady that prepares an omelette for you after you select your ingredients, biscuits & gravy. Neither of these are from scratch, but mixes. They also provide continental type foods.....cereals/fruit/bagals.

To their credit, the staff asked how the stay was, and I told her the condition of the room was not acceptable. But it's nothing the staff can do. The Quality Inn is not quality. The only thing that is quality there is the nice staff. The Quality Inn management should be ashamed of the condition of the rooms.

The word "Quality Inn" is now a joke between my husband and myself. As we continued our trip, we enjoyed seeing the "Quality Inn" on the interstate in each town that had one, and we waved as we passed it by.

I can't speak for other "Quality Inns" because I haven't stayed in any others. But I would not recommend the Quality Inn in Meridan, Mississippi to anyone, nor will I stay there on any return trip to that area.

Room Tip: In this particular facility in Meridian, I would advise you to ask to see the room before you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was in on a road trip recently that included MS - during the torrential rains from Tropical Storm Lee. I arrived early afternoon in Meridian and thought it best to get off the road. I appreciated that I was able to check in early to the Quality Inn. The front desk personnel (including a trainee) were very nice and helpful. The lobby was well-appointed and the grounds were decent. The room? Not so much.

The room was old and in desperate need of updating. Scuffed and battered walls (including a large hole by the towel bar), shabby carpet and bedspread. It was roomy and clean enough to provide shelter for one night. The wall unit a/c was extremely noisy and emitted unpleasant smells. As the temps had dropped to the 50's and very damp, I made the mistake of turning on the heat. The whole thing smelled as though it would burn up any minute! Had to open the door, and it took a while to clear the air.

I stayed because the weather was so bad and I didnt' have much choice. Definitely would not recommend this hotel. The free breakfast was decent, but I was certainly glad to leave the next day! Even with AAA, the room (plus taxes) was nearly $80!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Room very clean, safe and secure. Bed large and very comfortable. Rates excellent and front desk people were very helpful. Free breakfast in the morning was good also.

Room Tip: Park at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, MA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We travel with our dog alot. We were very pleasantly surprised that this hotel had no charge for our dog. The check in was very nice, turns out the gal at the counter was the owners daughter. She was so helpful. The rooms are ok a little dated but clean. The cost was $67 plus 9 % tax. The next morning we spoke with the owner. Very nice man and very good to his staff. We will stay her again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extend a Suites Meridian MS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extend a Suites Meridian MS

Address: 1401 Roebuck Dr, Meridian, MS 39301 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Mississippi > Meridian
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Meridian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extend a Suites Meridian MS 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest easy in one of our 105 spacious rooms that make you feel at home. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi, or use of the in-room microwave, refrigerator and ergonomic desk for extended stays. Guests will appreciate access to our refreshing outdoor pool, convenient on-site laundry facilities, and a satisfying homemade breakfast featuring delicious eggs, grits, biscuits and gravy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Extend a Suites Meridian MS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Meridian
Meridian Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extend a Suites Meridian MS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.