We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dinner Bell

Dinner Bell
229 5th Ave., McComb, MS 39648
601-684-4883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in McComb
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Long Beach, Mississippi
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed the down home cooking at the Dinner Bell, but felt that it was a bit over-rated.

We would go back again, but if the wait appeared to be a long one, we would get in the car and go elsewhere for our meal.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Go to say you've been”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The food is comforting. I don't know what they put in the squash but I have been craving it ever since we left. You can read other reviews to see how they "lazy susan" works. Here are the reasons I give it average:

1. The wait was 2.5 hours. During this time you can look inside and watch people eat. I know this makes them feel uncomfortable and rushed, because I did when I was eating. The max-capacity had to have been met and exceeded by 30 people in the waiting area. We were back to back to people you didn't know. Very uncomfortable.

2. Eating with a group of people you don't know can be aggravating and uncomfortable. Especially if there is a pie that you want and you have to wait for it to get all the way to you and hope someone doesn't take it.

3. If you go, take a LOT of people so you can all sit at a table together.

4. The wait honestly wasn't worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, MS
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Does it get any better?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Southern style home cooking at its best. The Dinner Bell is like Sunday dinner at Grandma's. The round table has a lazy susan and all of the food is placed on it. Diners sit around the table and help themselves as the food is spun around! Be careful with your tea glass because some times the food gets to spinning quickly. Be sure to try the fried eggplant which simply can not be beat. Everything is good. My favorite are the rutabagas and cornbread!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Perfect Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wow! Southern cooking doesn't come any better. This restaurant in a tiny town serves a unique experience along with the best food. A round table of about 18 people with a huge lazy susan serving one tasty dish after the other. Have as many items as you want, as much as you want, it just keeps coming by. This added some fun to a great meal and the kids were fascinated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The Food is Not Consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We ate here a year ago for a family reunion and the food was subpar. It was not worth what we paid and the service at the tables was non-existent.

My husband and I decided to give it another try a couple of weeks ago and ordered take out. It was $8 a plate and well worth it. If they could work on their consistency I would eat there every time I was in McComb.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinner Bell also viewed

 

Been to Dinner Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinner Bell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.