We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tex not Mex” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Potrillo Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Potrillo Mexican Restaurant
123 Grand View Boulevard, Suite H, Madison, MS
(601) 605-9320
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 67 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
“Tex not Mex”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hardly qualifies as a Mexican restaurant. Put guacamole on everything does not constitute Mexican cuisine. The salsa was not spicy at all, the sopapillas were basically fried tortillas with whipped cream and (literally) a cherry on top. If you want some fake Mexican cuisine (e.g. Tex Mex) I guess this may be a decent spot, but if you want real Mexican cuisine, La Guadalupe or La Morena are way way better. Definitely not going back to El Potrillo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Steak fajitas were very tough and bland! Service was slow, avoid this tex mex place and go across the street to taquieria y guadalupe, where the food is authentic, freshly made, and the service is great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite American-style Mexican restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is one of our favorite American-style Mexican restaurants to eat at in the Jackson area. I've tried all of the others in Madison along with Flowood, Ridgeland, and such, and this location is by far the best. They recognize us when we walk in and take the time to speak Spanish to the kids and treat them as important too. Food is always great and fast. HUGE variety on the menu and large portions. Great value for the money, and the kids LOVE their beans and rice. (That seems to be how my kids judge the other Mexican restaurants - by how yummy their beans and rice are.) In fact, some fajitas from El Potrillo are sounding fantastic right about now!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Top notch food and perfect margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This has become one of my favorite Mexican restaurants. Very broad choices on the menu and fresh ingredients at a reasonable price. The margaritas are a perfect balance of sweet and sour. Hard to always hit it right but they have it down. The service is excellent and we are always greeted by one or more of the family members that runs this friendly establishment. We are, and will continue to be, regulars for sure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
1 review
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good food, good service and good atmosphere. Really don't understand why they want 100 characters...my review is all i needed to say. That's one reason I hardly ever do reviews.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Potrillo Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Potrillo Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Potrillo Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.