We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Catfish in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgia Blue

Georgia Blue
Colony Crossing Shopping Center, 111 Colony Crossing, Suite 130, Madison, MS 39110
601 898 33030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Catfish in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Friday lunch is the best. Catfish is awesome and the chicken fried chicken/ chicken fried steak with WHITE GRAVY is terrific also. Come early; gets packed from noon till 1:00pm.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia B, Manager at Georgia Blue, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Gotta agree with you there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    26
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I've been to Georgia Blue in Madison, MS 3 times while travelling for business. The food is consistently great and the servers are very friendly. I look forward to eating there each time I'm in the area - I would definitely recommend it for lunch. The beer selection is great as well. My favorite so far was the crab cake po boy with fried green tomatoes. Good stuff!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia B, Manager at Georgia Blue, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you, Ron! Come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“sports bar with wanna be stuck up waitresses”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

poor service. they don't acknowledge you and the food is decent but overpriced. the manager was friendly, though.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia B, Manager at Georgia Blue, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback. We will private message you for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT PETERSBURG
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious unique food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Southern cooking with a unique twist. Had their fried green tomato BLT, wonderful! Visited on a Thursday evening, live music. Too loud for a conversation but when alone made for nice background. Every table was full but not a long wait. Great service! Appreciated the attention from the manager (Reese) and waiter (Michael). Highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia B, Manager at Georgia Blue, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food and Even Better Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I went on a Friday night. We were able to get a table without waiting. Our server was Matthew R. He was extremely attentive without being over whelming. He took our drink orders and they immediately appeared. I never had to ask for a refill nor did he interrupt our conversation to ask if I need more, he just quietly filled my water glass. Beer was serrved in an iced glass. He knew the menu and gave great suggestions.
The food was great! Fried Green Tomatoes for appetizer, were perfectly seasoned. My husband had the Shrimp and Grits which was very flavorful, very good. I had the Grilled Mahi with Grits, it had a wonderful Pineapple infused sauce. I was glad I asked for the sauce on the side though, it really complemented the fish but I think it would have been too much sauce for my taste. I am not a grits person but these were really, really good.
Overall it was a great dining experience! Perfect combination of great food and superb service! We will definitely be returning to Georgia Blue!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia B, Manager at Georgia Blue, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Great review! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georgia Blue also viewed

 

Been to Georgia Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgia Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.