We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent sushi. Horrible service!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nagoya Japanese Restaurant
111 Colony Crossing Way, Ste 380, Madison, MS 39110
601-856-5678
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 67 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
1 review
“Decent sushi. Horrible service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

After waiting four our sushi for just over an hour and having watched 2 tables seated after us get their food, eat, and leave, I told the waitress I would just pay for the beer I had and leave. She brought the owner over and said "oh your ticket was lost please don't leave, your meal will be right out and complementary". I agreed mainly because I was starving after the wait. Sushi was ok, and the ticket comes, 10 dollar discount,nothing "complementary". I paid and left a very unsatisfied customer. You shouldn't say it will be complementary so your customers don't leave then stick them with the bill. Terrible service

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeland, Mississippi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Affordable Japanese in a casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Good food that doesn't break the bank. they are located in a strip mall and the decor reflects it , but the food is good. I usually go for the sushi, but they have a hibachi grill as well. This is a popular lunch spot with the locals. so it can get a little crowded.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Such a fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Love coming here. The food is consistently good! The hibachi chef is always entertaining. Food is also reasonably priced.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg MS
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“great lunch, fine food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Almost everything was outstanding: my wife and I shared two rolls, a Caterpillar and a 3 Musketeers, which was a special that was really special (tuna, salmon, and white fish with avocado and spices and who knows what else). The rolls were beatifully presented, very fresh and tasty. We also split the tuna tataki appetizer, which was perfectly prepared, and tempura veggies, which were also excellent. Our friends had a bit more mixed reviews: grilled yellow tail neck was a bit too fishy tasting, soft shell crab appetizer was delicious, but without fresh veggies that menu said came with it, shrimp and avocado salad was quite good. We each had a glass of wine, and tab was about $80 for four. Service was a little slow and waitress did not know what the specials were, and once she had written them down for us she could not tell us what the 4 specials consisted of. Still, everyone was very pleasant, food arrived quickly, nice, comfortable atmosphere. We prefer to stay away from the hibachi showmanship, but it's there for those who want it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Not as Good as It used to Be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Have been here several times. This was my most disappointing visit.

Service is always very attentive and friendly. But in this last visit I was disappointed in the food. Sushi was ok, but not exciting. The yellowtail cheek/collar was ok, but not as good in the past. Don't think it was the preparation.. The quality of the fish is my concern.

The tempura oyster roll was a huge disappointment. The oyster lacked any flavor. There was no tempura crunch. The rice was soft, the oyster was soft, and the tempura was mushy. A bad dish. Very disappointing.

I would return, but would be very selective in my choices.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nagoya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nagoya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagoya Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.