We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pulled pork sandwich” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hokies BBQ & Grill

Hokies BBQ & Grill
17227 Highway 26 W, Lucedale, MS 39452-9035
601-766-1007
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Lucedale
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pulled pork sandwich”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Pulled pork sandwich was OK for lunch. Small amount of meat on a big bun. Baked beans were better. I guess this is the only BBQ place in town. I didn't get to try the ribs. The scenery inside is fantastic though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't be foolish; get the ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We failed to order ribs with our meal. Dinner was good, but waitress insisted we not leave until we tried their ribs. I think she might have been an angel in disguise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the best ribs in America, maybe the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My work takes me all over the country and being from Alabama I do love BBQ so I always try the local flavor. We've got some pretty good ribs and Q in Bama, but Hokies is absolutely the best I've eaten anywhere. The ribs are the most tender I've ever had and they do literally fall off the bone and the flavor can't be beat. Their smoked potato salad and baked beans are also the best in the West, or North, South or East. Did I say I like their ribs? If you have an occasion to be in South Mississippi be sure to check out Hokies. You'll be glad you did and sad if you don't!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious BBQ and freindly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The food is hot and has delicious BBQ flavor. Service is excellent. The Portions are more than enough. Prices are very reasonable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“are you open? have a table? want our business?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband is a carnivore so he enjoys the meat.. I like the chicken okay but would like a decent side dish.. not one here for me. tiny seating area with sticky floors and tables. Last time we went (he and grandchildren chose for meat) we walked in and stood at the door.. in the front door... people coming in behind us... waiting... waiting... waiting... the girls (yes more than one) at the register just looked at us. people behind us asked if we were waiting.. duh... so we waited a bit longer and left... oh well.. tried once more with some ladies from work.. same story second verse.. there will not be a third verse .

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hokies BBQ & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hokies BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hokies BBQ & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.