We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Long Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Long Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 West Beach Blvd., Long Beach, MS 39560   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Beach
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average at Best!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express over the Labor Day weekend for the first time. I must say of all the Holiday Inns that we've stayed at, this one was just average in all aspects! I had to point out that I was a priority club member. I exclusive book with HI due to my priority status, and the familiar feeling that the staff projects when they greet you as a club member; projecting an appreciative attitude for your stay! On several occasions the staff here appeared be more occupied with their own cell phones or their conversations with each other than your presence. The staff was not as friendly as I'm accustom to at HI. The room we stayed in was clean, but we felt the walls in the rooms were not adequately thick enough to muffle the sounds. We frequetly heard other patrons hallway traffic, and at times their conversations in the neighboring rooms. We will book at the HI in Biloxi, before we book here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Long Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear usmc_dkl,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    63
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
56
69
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed in early August 2013. Evening check in guy was awesome. Great dry sense of humor.
He should be poster boy for all front desk personnel.
Hotel itself was very clean, in good shape.
Breakfast was great. Attendant was very pleasant and efficient.
Day front desk clerk needs some training in customer service. Rarely acknowledges guests passing by and spends way to much time on the computer. Refused to make reservation for next destination@ HI Ex.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: view room on south side- beautiful view of gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business and didn' t have the best experience. When I checked in, the front desk clerk was not friendly at all. Before I went up to my room, I asked if Priority Club members got warer and her response was "Oh, are you a Priority Club Member?" She then looked at my reservation, saw I am, and gave me water. The room seemed ok. In the morning, I discovered mold in the shower. There were several black areas on the grout. That is mold. I was planning on staying 2 nights but decided to check out that day because of it. I mentioned it to the front desk clerk and he apologized. I thought he would offer to comp the room. I later received a request from HI corporate asking me to submit a review. I did, complete with pictures of the mold. That review never got published on the hotel website. Only the glowing reviews are published. I checked that I would like to be contacted to discuss my experience. The next day the hotel manager called me. She stated that the head housekeeper went up to the room and saw black on the grout but couldn't get it off. I explained that we have a condo in HI and that I am very familiar with mold. I told her that they would have to apply bleach or a mold cleaner like Tilex to remove it. She was very apologetic and asked me if I wanted her to refund some of the room fee. I replied that it would be great and she offered to refund at least 1/2. That has never happened.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Long Beach, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear mariadosTucson_Az,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

While visiting the Mississippi Gulf coast I would strongly recommend Holiday Inn Express in Long Beach, clean rooms, affordable rates , and friendly staff. Located on the north side of Hwy 90 minutes from casinos and shopping and just walk across the street for the beach

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendenhall, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I checked in late, and the front desk staff was very helpful and quick. The hotel was very clean and everything worked smootly. The hotel was quiet, and we were able to get a good night's sleep before heading out in the morning to go fishing. The hotel is located VERY close to the Long Beach Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I really want to give this hotel a higher rating,but I can't. As a very frequent traveller it is a good hotel, but does not have that edge to give it outstanding and a few glitches.
First it is very clean I love the smell of bleach it means clean and safe to me. The amount of sand surrounding this area and coming in they do an amazing job of keeping it contained and outside. Housekeeping you get an A.
The front desk staff friendly,but they are training some new people and I think the glitches there will work out soon and the assistant manager was very open to my suggestions.
Breakfast just simply a mad house all 4 days I was there. Lots of families and children. Staff did a good job of keeping up.
Pool nice I got there early enough one morning to do laps,but every other day it was kid haven.
Beach is wonderful, but as noted by a previous reviewer. Long Beach just doesn't get quite the attention Biloxi and Gulf Port with their multiple huge condos do. There was more oil clumps on the beach than when I was in the area in March and a lot of debris. However, it is very lightly used in comparison to a few miles east.
One real stick point for me. I was working and the wifi was down or spotty at best the whole time. Very frustrating. I could on get about 5 min then lock up even when I went to the lobby to work. Then it was down. This forced me out of the area to complete my assignment.
If you are looking for clean and basic,lots of family or older crowd. This is the place. For business be forewarned and expect you might have to find another wifi area. I might have to try the new Wyndam up the road a mile for next business even though for business HIEX is usually my go to.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were trying to stay 2 nights at this hotel. We couldn't get a room anywhere in Long Beach. We decided to get a room on the interstate many miles away. It was a good choice. We didn't realized until we arrived that the Holiday Inn is the only hotel in Long Beach. It said the rooms would hold 5 people. Once we arrived, we asked for a roll away bed because there was no couch in the room. We called close to bed time and were told there were no roll away beds. Our son slept on the floor. It was a nice clean hotel. The pool is smaller and no hot tub. The beach is directly across the street. It is a very busy 4 lane highway. It is a long level beach, but the water is horribly dirty. We walked on the beach at sunset when the tide went down. There are large pipes going into the water and still very large tar balls. If you put your feet into the sand, it is drenched with oil. We didn't realize this before we went there. It was definately not what we had in mind for our weekend at the beach.

The hotel staff are all very friendly. The hotel was nice and clean. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good with a large variety. The pool was a nice temperature. The website we booked through said onsite laundry. There was no laundry facilities. We did use the business center. It was nice, clean and computer worked great to print out our cruise documents.

We didn't realize the area was still slowly recovering from the oil spill and Katrina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Long Beach

Address: 300 West Beach Blvd., Long Beach, MS 39560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Long Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to the Heart of Long Beach, is the Holiday Inn Express Long Beach, Mississippi! We are conveniently located on Highway 90 across the street from the white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, just a short drive from Interstate 10. With our world class service and many Gulfport/Biloxi/Long Beach businesses, restaurants and attractions within minutes from our front door, you ll discover why our guests have selected us as their preferred hotel in Long Beach! This state-of-the-art hotel features special in room amenities such as free high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, 32 flat panel LCD HDTV. Whether you are staying with us for business or pleasure, take time to relax and enjoy our spectacular views of the Gulf of Mexico, outdoor swimming pool, business center, wireless Internet access in all public areas. The majority of our rooms have breathtaking views of the Gulf of Mexico Points of interest: Companies:, Northrup Grummond, Dupont, Federal Express, Seaway Industrial Park, & Wal-Mart. Healthcare Facilities Gulfport Memorial Universities: Gulf Coast Community College Local Attractions: Gulf Islands Water Park, Gulfport Sportsplex, Ship Island Excursions, Prime Outlet Mall, SeaBee Museum, Beauvoir Jefferson Davis home, Gulf Coast Coliseum, & Casinos. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Long Beach, Mississippi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Long Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Long Beach Hotel Long Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Long Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.