We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Friendship Oak

Friendship Oak
730 East Beach Boulevard, Southern Miss Gulf Park campus, Long Beach, MS 39560
228 865 4500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Long Beach
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 500 years old, this oak tree is allegedly Mississippi's oldest and most beautiful tree.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

It's a nice tree. If you are driving along Hwy 90 and want to stop and get out to stretch your legs, this is a nice place to do so. It's a big, sprawling tree. If you want to see a big, sprawling tree allegedly 500 years old, this is the tree for you.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    13
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“It's a tree. It's a very nice tree, but it's a tree.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love coastal live oaks and this specimen is grand. But it is very hard to imagine this as a destination, attraction, or something to plan to do. If you are in Long Beach for some reason, and have nothing REAL to do, then see this tree.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice to see a 500 year old tree, especially since it survived Katrina and you still see plenty of empty lots and boarded up buildings along the cost. Surprised that they built student housing so close to the tree. Good spot for pics.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
“majestic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Take time to see this marvelous work of God. 500 years old and growing. Survived Katrina and other storms and still standing. Only if it could speak can you imagine the tales it could tell.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing tree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My cousin and I decided to take a road trip to the beach this summer. We leftTexas & Louisianna and stopped in Biolxi & Gulfport. We visited the 500 year old Friendship oak Tree that is right in the middle of the univ of Southern Miss. This tree withstood hurricane Katrina. The tree was beautiful, holding up really well,with long gangly branches. It was easy to find right off the highway, we hung out for a bit taking pictures and then we were back on the rode. Beautiful tree & worth the stop!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friendship Oak also viewed

 

Been to Friendship Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friendship Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.